Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



2001-08-28 - 6:30 p.m.

Today was our yearly 'Nuclear Meltdown Death and Destruction' exercize at work.

What? You don't know what I am talking about?

Well,we live about 30 miles south of the most expensive to build nuclear power plant in the country.

The cost overruns(from when they built it between 1974-1979) that were passed on to us lucky citizens here could have built 2 or 3 more nuclear plants,had there been any oversight on this money pit.Contractors were hauling out anything not nailed down when they left work each night.

I tell you how bad the theft was.

I have a small fishing boat sitting in my driveway.I bought it back around 1983.Paid $175 for it.It is made out of steel and has a trailor that could haul a boat 5 times the size of the 15 foot v-hull on it now .

I just happened to put another coat of paint on the trailor and the insides today after work(steel does rust,unfortunately).

Anyway,I found out ,years after I bought it, that I was the third owner.The man I bought it from bought it from the guy who built it from scratch.

From stuff he lifted from the power plant.

Ever piece of it.

Well,except the tires and rims.I guess they didn't have a use for those in the construction of the power plant.

And no,I have never offered to give it to the local utility.I didn't know where it came from when I bought it.They wouldn't know what to do with it,anyway.

Probably fill it with dirt and make a planter out of it....

Anyway,where was I?

Oh yeah,the 'Nuclear blahblahblah' exercize.

What it amounts to is a bunch of management types set up a 'control center' and practice what they would do if there was ever an 'unusual event' at said power plant.

You know ,like if death started spewing out of a huge crack in the dome over the cooling chamber.

Everyone in charge has told us , over and over,that this will never happen.

The government folks never lie to you,right?

About every 45 minutes,Beavis called me with the lastest news,which I was to record in a log.Things like "sectors 1-3 are evacuated,sectors 4-6 are toast" and "send 10 guys up with barricades to stop northbound traffic".The drill was all over in about 4 hours.

Just like it would be in the event of an actual emergency....

Our job(as highway folks) is to set up the barricades and control trafic flow coming down from the county north of us(where the plant resides).You know,people will just be driving the speed limit,waving as they pass us at the county line.

Don't think that will happen,though.

I plan on being about 45 minutes ahead of them,headed south myself.....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top