Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



2001-08-30 - 7:39 p.m.

Please excuse me for a minute..................................................................................................................

Still there?

I'm back.I have been fighting my wonderful printer(the brand name is a weapon used in wars).I was thisclose to throwing it out the window.It goes through ink like a taco a tourist buys on the streets of Cabo San Lucas.It seems like every time I change or refill the cartridges it either leaks or doesn't let ink flow.Way too much hassle for the use I get from it.Codeman needed it for a school report tonight.I just wasted an hour getting it to work.


I went to my diary page today and there was this weird page up for my latest entry.If you stopped by,this was listed as my deep thoughts:

-

I have no idea how that became my entry.

Is this what is really in my brain,maybe?


I did get to go fishing yesterday afternoon-evening.

When I was younger,before getting a car in high school,I used to ride my 10 speed the mile or so from my house to the local lake several times a week.I used to only practice catch and release.

I have heard this called teasing fish.I guess it is,but I have always enjoyed the challenge of catching them.I still throw back most of what I manage to trick into biting my lures.I fish mainly with lures,not live bait.That limits the damage to the fish I release,because they only get lip hooked.Live bait often results in deep hooked fish.Released fish don't do well with a hook lodged in their stomach.

I do now keep some fish now and then.I give more away than I eat.I trade crappie and bluegill for beef from Emmitt,my farming co-worker.And I have several relatives who enjoy eating fish,but don't try to catch them.

That said,I didn't do well yesterday.

The winds were almost completly still.Not good for fishing.The barometric presure was high.Also bad.

I went to a location that was full of larger than normal bluegills two weeks ago.

All that was biting yesterday were very small ones.Most likely,fish that were born a year ago in the spring.

I did catch 50 or so 'gills on a small fly that I tied called a 'black nit'.Looks like the little no-see-ums that are always biting you in the woods.

Nothing to write home about,but at least I had something to catch after driving 45 minutes to fish.


Before someone gets mad at me and writes because they think fishing is cruel,let me explain a few things .

First,I do not think fish are equal to humans(the old P.E.T.A. saying a mouse=a dog=a child is just wrong.A mouse isn't as important as a human.Unless you are a mouse,maybe.)

Fish are cold blooded creatures.They don't love their young(many fish eat their offspring).They don't have family reunions.They don't build museums or develope drugs to save other fish.They don't have talk radio(o.k.,they are better than us there).

If you are a full vegetarian,I respect your right to not eat animals.Please respect my right to get the protein in my diet through animal flesh.It's that simple.

Second,I do not hunt.Never have,never will.You can't throw back the stuff you don't want to keep.I work with MANY hunters,and I respect(there is that word again) their right to hunt.I enjoy the occasional deer steak or pheasant breast they pass my way.I just don't have the stomach for shooting and killing them.I don't know any hunter who breaks the laws when they hunt.They were all raised in the country and were tought by fathers who hunted with their fathers who....you get my point.

Third,if you could be there with me,as the sun is setting,gently casting a fly line on the surface of the lake you would understand why I love this hobby.At least I hope you would.

Go rent 'A River Runs Through It'.That oughta do it for you....


Thanks for stopping by.I hope you have a great Labor Day weekend.

I will be here with any further developments....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top