Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jul. 08, 2002 - 4:58 p.m.

Back to whatever �normal� is for me�..

Yeah, Sunday nights (after a day of pest fighting and weed pulling in the 95� heat) tend to put me in a funk.

And I�m not talking about a George Clinton funk that gets your booty shakin�.

But I am much better today, thanks for asking.

After a 5-hour night of sleep, I returned to the workplace, anxious to get back to work.

Well, I was anxious to see how much damage the beetles had done to may garden. I was looking forward to catching up on my watering and weeding.

Anxious to go to work?

No.

�But tell us, Roadiepig- why did you only get 5 hours of sleep last night. Don�t old people like you need extra sleep just to function?�

Um, that would be Mr. Pig to you, young�un. And, yes, I really do need more than 5 hours of sleep.

I couldn�t get my mind to shut down and go into sleep mode. It might have been the fact I stayed up later than normal, starting last Wednesday night, and couldn't get back into my early bedtime. It might have been the heat (our central air can�t cool the upstairs down as well as the ground floor, and it�s even worse when the highs are staying in the freakin� mid-90�s).

I don�t know what the problem was, but it affected both Lease and myself. She told me this morning that she thought she was keeping ME awake all night. It thought it was the other way around.

So, off to work in a stupor I went.

The beetles had multiplied four-fold over their numbers on Friday, replacing all the ones killed by my Sevin� spraying with a vengeance. I didn�t have enough Sevin� dust (hey, that would be a cool name for a rock band, don�t you think? Sevindust?) to make a dent in their population, so I used what I had on my okra plants.

Why the okra plants? Because this round of beetles LOVES okra! They had made most of my plant's leaves into lace by this morning, setting the harvest back greatly. I had picked a handful of pods on Friday, even thought the plants were only about 1 foot tall. The variety is �Cajun Delight�, and it was set to produce pods like I have never seen before. Now? I might save the plants enough to start picking again in a few weeks.

Have I mentioned that I HATE JAPANESE BEETLES?

Oh yeah, I have. Sorry�.


I had one other highlight at work today: I managed to score us a couple of new phones from Ameritech.

What�s the big deal, right? Well, our phone system is even older than our computer. It was installed in 1984, and hasn�t been seriously upgraded since.

Last Wednesday, I had finally had enough of my crappy headset. I didn�t have any more old phones to cannibalize, so I did the next best thing.

I took the headset off of the second lead workers desk, and replaced it with my broken one.

I did it for a simple reason. I knew that Tink would complain, causing the ball to start rolling on repair service.

It worked. Tink came into my toolroom today, wanting to know what was wrong with his phone.

�The thing worked fine last night (they had another pavement blowup), but I can�t hear a thing when I answer the phone today! Do you know who might have messed with it?�, was what came out of his mouth.

�Gee, no, I have no idea! It just started acting up today, you say? I just don�t know who could have done anything to it!� was my smart-assed response.

He kept looking at my phone, trying to see if I had his headset (he said his had scratches on the side. How he would know that is beyond me, since he has trouble remembering how to get to work some days), but the large letter �R� that Bubba had Sharpied� on it last Wednesday threw him for a loop.

He complained to Beavis, and Beavis gave me the go-ahead to call Ameritech.

The serviceman was there in about an hour. I was impressed, until he mentioned that he was done for the day and needed something to keep himself busy.

He not only removed Tink�s defective phone, I was able to talk him into replacing MOM�s crapy phone, too.

See, it doesn�t take much to get me in a better mood, does it?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top