Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 10, 2002 - 8:06 p.m.

Another batch of jam, and other garden stuff��

First off,though- a photo�

Remember the flag-raising ceremony story from our Six Flags trip?.

I finally had the photos we took with the throwaway camera developed. Like all photos you get with one of these �top of the line� cameras, they are pretty sad. All the shots we took in the staging areas of the rides are too dark. Since the camera was loaded with 400-speed film, I didn�t expect that problem. Anything that is more than 7 feet from the camera is slightly out of focus.

Well, what did I expect for $5, right?

I don�t know. I have had better luck with disposables in the past. I guess I should have sprung for the flash and paid an extra $3.

Anyway, I told you I would post a shot of J-Rod and Codeman carrying the big U.S. flag, and I try to keep my promises.

As you can tell (sure you can), they were really into the task.

Hey, they each received a free pas for another day, so that�s pretty cool. Codeman told us tonight that they are going in August.

Good for them, I say. One trip a year is about enough for my old bones now days�..


By now, I am sure you are just dieing to know what kind of jam I made today, right?

O.k., you�re not. Play along.

I had bought far too much fruit in the past week or so, so I needed to process some of it.

What did I have to work with?

A seedless watermelon and black cherries from Wallyworld.

A quart of strawberries and a bunch of bananas from the produce guy.

A half-peck of peaches from the downtown farmers market.

And about 5 cups of red raspberries from my garden.

Now, I love to eat fresh fruit. I can find ways to eat it with my breakfast, lunch, and for an afternoon snack. Lease does a great job of making deserts for me with whatever is in season.

But, considering I am the only one here that eats that much fruit, I had to do something with some of this bounty before it all went bad.

The raspberries ended up in a freezer bag with the hope that the second crop of berries will combine with these and add up to enough for a batch of jam.

The bananas will end up as banana bread this weekend, if Lease has the time to make it.

The rest will be consumed by the weekend.

All but the strawberries, that is. They wouldn�t have made it that long, as they were close to turning to compost already.

But it a jam, that isn�t a problem. The fruit wasn�t so ripe that it was moldy or anything. It was just getting soft, that�s all.

But a quart isn�t enough for a batch of jam. So, I improvised.

I used the Ball Blue book, and found a recipe for strawberry-rhubarb jam. Now, I have made jam out of both ingredients before, but not together. Since I haven�t harvested any of my sad rhubarb stalks this year, I went for this recipe.

I usually have no problem with anything I make with the Ball book, but their recipe for strawberry-rhubarb could use a little adjusting, I think.

Why? Well, they call for adding the crushed strawberries and the chopped rhubarb with the pectin and lemon juice, all at the start. This didn�t give the rhubarb time to soften up. I had to turn the heat down and simmer the mix for about 25 minutes to get the desired consistency. It turned out o.k., but there wasn�t enough liquid to make the sugar dissolve enough until I added about a � cup of water. That helped, but I still ended up with a few too many air bubbles in the final, canned product.

Hey, it tastes all right, so I guess all the other crap doesn�t matter�.


Harvest news: I picked the rest of the Walla Walla onions today. Filled a full 5 gallon bucket, so I guess about 20 pounds would be a good guess.

I also harvested my shallots. I grow a few of these members of the allium family every year, and then promptly forget to use them. I think they are great in scrambled eggs, and make a good base for most any soup. I just forget I have them hanging up in the basement pantry.

I had the hose running this morning (in my work garden), because the rain had managed to miss us again. That makes three weeks without rain.

I said I had it running, because somebody turned it off. I didn�t find out until it was too hot to run it any longer. I managed to get some water down, so whoever thought it was funny to fuck with my hose didn�t do any harm.

Now, if the same person who did this did the following, they are in need of a little psychiatric help( or at least a little 'anger management' help): Somebody threw a bunch of scrap metal over the bins that separate my garden from the rock storage. It flattened a couple hills of my squash (I guess you could say they squashed my squash, but I�m not laughing right now). Yes, they had to know what they were doing, and they had to do it on purpose.

Sick fuck, I must say. I don�t understand why someone would damage my garden, if only because almost everyone takes some of my surplus home with them.

Trying to harm a garden that provides free food for most everyone makes no sense. That is, unless you don�t get any benefit from the harvest. I have a pretty good idea who did this, if only because we only have one sorry individual that would drop this low.

And this lowlife never takes anything from my offerings�����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top