Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 18, 2002 - 5:00 p.m.

�Lead Workers Tour- Don�t Miss It!�

Today was finally the day. MOM had been preparing the storage for the Lead Workers tour for the past week. She had extra guys in the yard, cleaning out each and every nook and cranny in the yard, organizing the cold bays and the back lot, and cleaning all the trucks and equipment for this �exciting� event.

What is the Lead Workers tour?

It�s not a crazy spin-off from Ozfest or Lollapalooza. That�s for sure.

It�s the annual event where all of the various lead workers from our district gather at one of the storage, and then visit several of the years to see what was new or innovative at each yard.

If you have read this �journal� very long, you know what they found at our storage.

Nothing new, unless you count the end loader we finally received in May (after it being cut twice in recent budgets) or the weed eater we bought last month. The average age of the trucks in our fleet is approaching 9years.

Innovative? Hum.

I guess you could say it�s innovative how we keep all of our junky trucks running, but that�s not what they are looking for. The brine system we use was one of the first in operation in the state, but that was 4 years ago.

Nope, innovations-aren�t-us��.


I had all of the office areas and the toolroom spotless.

Nobody went into the offices (our lead worker used the bathroom, but he sees it daily). Only two lead workers came into the toolroom, and that was to say hi to me. I see both of them all the time, so that doesn�t count, either.

Since our storage is considered the �black sheep� of the district, MOM goes out of her way to prove �them� wrong whenever they have events like this.

I don�t know if they noticed or not, but we had the place looking pretty good.

Maybe that will be enough to get the jack offs at our headquarters (several of which were here today) to stopping criticizing us?

Naaaaaaa����..


Weird State Employee Fact: The county located just east of us has around 12 employees.

Many of us go by our nicknames (it�s a guy thing, I guess). This county is no exception.

In that one storage they have a Dobby (short for Dobson), a Dobber (after the character on the old sitcom �Coach�) and a Doobie (due to his past partying).

Dobby, Doober, and Doobie.

Try saying that fast three times��.


I harvested about half of my beets today.

Now, before you say �Yuck!� let me tell you what I do with them.

1. I cut the smallest tops and cook the leaves in a skillet with olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar. Chow.

2. I make pickled beets, and then can them. My recipe has changed through the years. I didn�t think the first couple I tried were sweet enough, but I found one last year that made the beets as sweet as, well, sweet pickles. If I open a jar at work, it usually doesn�t last long. And that�s with only a few adventurous souls (besides me) willing to try them.

3. This year, I plan on trying to make Harvard style beets. Have you ever had good Harvard beets? I think my mom used to make them, but that was long ago. I found a couple of recipes on the Internet that sound tasty, and I am willing to give them a try. One of the recipes I downloaded includes orange juice, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Sounds like a desert, but it�s a side dish.

That�s one of the things about cooking that makes it interesting to me. Some of the things I try are lousy, but when I find something that people like, it makes it worth all the experimenting.

I also picked a big kohlrabi plant, and cut it up for the guys at lunchtime.

This one is a little out there. If you have a grocery store that carries kohlrabi, you must have a produce section with great variety.

What is it?

(This is from the All Recipe site):

Kohlrabi-

[ kohl-RAH-bee ] This vegetable is a member of the turnip family and, for that reason, is also called cabbage turnip. Like the turnip, both its purple-tinged, white bulblike stem and its greens are edible. The kohlrabi bulb tastes like a mild, sweet turnip. It's available from mid-spring to mid-fall. Those under 3 inches in diameter are the most tender. Choose a kohlrabi that is heavy for its size with firm, deeply colored green leaves. Avoid any with soft spots on the bulb or signs of yellowing on leaf tips. Store tightly wrapped up to 4 days in the refrigerator. Kohlrabi's best steamed, but can also be added to soups and stews as well as used in STIR-FRY. It's rich in potassium and vitamin C.

I pick them small, and eat them raw most of the time. Like they said above, it is very good in a stir-fry. I use them as a substitution for water chestnuts. They taste better, and give your dish the same �crunch�.

Anyway�

The guys who tried it all liked it. I might have to plant a few more of these easy-to-grow plants for a fall harvest��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top