Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jul. 24, 2002 - 7:09 p.m.

�OH SHIT!��Words you DON�T want to hear out of your electrician�s mouth�

The HFE distributor at work has been broken down for some time now. It looked like lightning might have hit it back in May, but whether or not that happened, all of the wiring that entered the pump had melted down to a gooey mess.

That kind of work is beyond what we are supposed to do, so we had to call our licensed electrician.

This being the state, we have to accept the low bid on contractors, too.

Our man is out of a small town about 60 miles away. He has the contract for the whole district (12 counties), so calling him up and getting him to come over can be a problem.

He called me this morning, and asked what we needed of him this time. Since Beavis originally called him about a month, I wasn�t sure if that was why he called us, so I cleared things up with the Beav and explained the problem.

He drove right over, and started the re-wire job. He was done in no time, but he had another problem for us.

He couldn�t figure out why the system had two different thermostats on it.

I didn�t know why, either, and nor did anybody else.

That meant a call to the manufacturer of the tank.

Since they were in Seattle, they weren�t open for business at that early hour. Since he had time to kill, he offered to fix the short in our wash bay hot water heater. That kept him busy for about an hour. Still nobody at the tank manufacturer.

So, he asked me to go out back with him, so he could show me the work he had done. He also wanted me to see that the pump was working, but was frozen up because the HFE was cooled down and set up around it. That was why he wondered what the other thermostat was for: would it heat up the pump and make it free?

As he was demonstrating his work for me, he accidentally kicked the pump on. Since it was frozen up, it started grinding, causing a strain on the electrical system. Smoke started to appear around the pump

That is when he uttered the words, �OH SHIT!!�

His hands were flying, hitting buttons and switches, trying to shut the system down.

He must have hit the right button, because everything stopped.

The pump survived.

He is a good electrician; he�s just a little unusual.


Last year, he won a contract to replace all of our old shop lights. He took down all of the old fluorescent fixtures and replaced them with modern mercury vapor lights.

He didn�t bring in a lift stand for the work. That is what most people would do.

No, he had an old Chevy van that he had converted into a �cherry picker� truck.

He couldn�t drive this truck, because the transmission was almost gone. So, every day he pulled it behind his other truck, and then backed it into the bays. Whenever he was working, he had to leave the engine running so that the hydraulics worked on the lift.

On the last day he was working, I was at my desk doing something when I heard a loud �thud!� and then our electrician yelling �OH SHIT! OH SHIT�.

I was almost afraid to see what had happened.

He was all right, but his �cherry picker� had broken a hose with him at full extension.

This caused his bucket to suddenly drop to the bottom, spraying gallons of hydraulic fluid all over the shop.

It took him about 10 bags of Oil Dry� to clean up his mess.

Like I said, he wasn�t injured.

Maybe his pride was hurt a little, though����.


Hey, I posted another page of photos today. They range from early in 1980, up to a few of Codeman in 1989.

I still have a bunch of space left on my server, but I think I should remember that this is a �journal� first, and stick with writing for a little while.

At least for a few days, or until I run out of storage space�����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top