Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 25, 2002 - 4:48 p.m.

Tune in again in four months. That�s about the time when the Sh*t hits the fan at the state�.

Call me dense (Yeah, I know: �YOU�RE DENSE!�), but I suddenly realized the obvious today.

Call it my �State Department of Transportation Epiphany��

Things will be getting very hairy at work (in just a few months) when all of the long-timers take their early retirement

Why, you might ask?

Forget, for a few minutes, about all the experience we will be loosing. In the 5 that are sure to go, there is over 115 years of time served at the storage. That will be nearly impossible to recoup from new hires.

No, that isn�t what hit me like a bolt of lightning today.

What bothers me is more important: It�s the soon-to-be power vacuum.

Our lead-lead worker is retiring (MOM). The other lead worker position has been filled, on a rotating basis, for the last 2+ years. The man who still holds that spot has been on disability for that long. He will never be back, as his foot injury continues to deteriorate. He is just waiting for a final settlement, which the state doesn�t seem to be in any hurry to finalize for him.

So, when all the eligible people have their going-away cookouts and pack up their stuff for the last time, we will actually be 8 persons short.

Of the remaining 15 or so people left behind, only four people have shown a desire to be in charge. Three of them have been rotating as the temporary #2. The other hasn�t signed up for that yet, but I expect him to do so before all the old-timers are gone.

Now, in the real world, having 4 people qualified to be the boss would be a good thing.

But, as you all know, government isn�t the real world.

Here is my (unofficial) breakdown of the four candidates:

#1 is Tink. He is a nice guy, but not management material. If you have read this �journal� before, he is the yarn-spinner.

#2 is Pumpkinhead. The one who hates everyone at the storage, and the rest of the world for good measure? The one voted �Most Likely to Come to Work and Gun Everyone Down One Day�?

NO, please NO!

#3 is FooFoo. Has only been at the job for about 1-� years. Already knows everything (and then some). Has managed to anger just about everyone with his know-it-all attitude.

#4 is the best choice (Mikey). But he is nearly retirement age, even though he has only been with the state for about 2 years. He ran a private business for years, and knows what it takes to get the job done. He has rubbed a few guys the wrong way. When he is upset about how things are going, he tends to use sarcasm to display his feelings. Not the way to get tenured guys in a government job to work hard for you, I�m afraid.

Not that he is wrong for doing it, either, but��.

So, that�s your choices. Whop. Pee.

Unless the state decides to bring someone in here from another area. There has been a rumor about a guy who lives two counties south of here. He wants to become a maintainer, but now works as a safety person out of the headquarters building. I wouldn�t be surprised if they put him here.

Wouldn�t THAT cause a wonderful mess?

Anyway you cut the cake, things will be nasty when the power struggle begins.

By the way: Three of the last four lead workers have held the position of �toolroom person� just prior to becoming a lead worker.

I am the toolroom person, but�.

NO FUCKING WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would put more exclamation marks, but I think you get my drift.

Power doesn�t do anything for me.

Power in a state job is even less attractive.

I like what I do now. I have plenty of responsibilities, and my job is safer than many that our employees do every day.

But lead worker?

No.

Way.

Ever.

You HAVE to be available for work, 24 hours a day.

I work so that I may live. I do not live so that I may work.

Even though I have several management people pushing me to take the job, it won�t happen. Unless I am forced into it, which I am sure they can�t do. Not with so many �qualified� people wanting the job.

If that did happen, I would be looking at early retirement, too.

Ignore the fact that I am 9 years too young to qualify.

I guess I could mow lawns and collect aluminum cans out of dumpsters for a few years, couldn�t I?


My 'real' mom will be visiting us this weekend, so I might not be on here for a few days.She takes over the spare bedroom, which is where this here computer sits. Hard to get online while she is around.

She knows nothing about this 'journal', so I can't just sit here, typing away, while she looks over my shoulder.

Which is the most pathetic fact: That my mom doesn't even know I write a 'journal, or the fact that I don't want my mom to know I write this 'journal'?

I guess you would have to know my mom.

I wouldn't wish that on anybody.

Well, maybe Pumpkinhead .......

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top