Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jul. 27, 2002 - 5:28 p.m.

Katy Did ? Katy Did WHAT?

(For those out there who have no idea what a katydid is, please click here, because I don�t want to waste any more of my file storage space. Thank you for being so understanding!)

The reason for this entry:

Every night, for the last week, whenever I take the boys outside for their nightly bowel and bladder emptying, I hear the same thing:

The call of two Katydids.

One is somewhere in the Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!, and the other is somewhere in the non-drugdealingneighbor�s yard. As I open the door, I hear the one on the left side making it�s rubbing-the-wings-against-the-back-legs sound of �katydid! katydid!�, only to hear the one on the right respond with the same.

Now, to some the sound that these rather large grasshopper wanna-be�s make would be rather annoying.

Not to me. The call (obviously used to find a mating partner- very cool in my book!) is one of my favorite sounds of summer. Every time I hear it, it brings me back to my youth.

I remember trying to fall asleep in a hot, humid tent on many a Boy Scout camping trip. It didn�t matter whether it was at a local lake, or if it was on the once-a-year long drive and exotic local for a weekend trip. If it was between the months of July and September, the Katydid was there with us.

Making so damn much noise that nobody could fall asleep until exhaustion overtook us.

As an adult, I had almost forgot these noisy beasts. That is, until I went on one of those �guy�s only� campouts (I think I know someone who has experience with this) a few years back.

We had a total of three tents. In one, we only stored our coolers (beer and some other items, but mainly BEER).

In the other two, we had to find space for 5 guys.

No problem, right?

I didn�t think so, until I tried to fall asleep.

In one tent, my friends the Anti-Quisp and (I can�t remember who, but he will soon send me an email to remind me) were sleeping soundly.

In my tent, I shared space with my bros-in-law Tyrone and p-Rick (now divorced from Rubes).

Since everyone had plenty to drink, sleep came early (around 10 pm) and easy.

Easy, except for me.

I would have been able to fall into deep slumber, if only I had brought along earplugs.

But, since I didn�t, I had a stereo of LOUD SNORING coming from both sides of the tent.

I tried covering my ears with my arm; I tried blocking out the noise- nothing worked.

Since it was early September, the weather was still pretty warm. I finally decided I had only one option:

Sleep outside of the tent.

Since we had a concrete pad next to our tent, I just drug my sleeping bag outside and set myself up on this pad.

What has this to do with katydids?

They were all around the campsite. Calling each other, all night.

And I fell asleep to their call.

Every since then, I have always had a soft spot in my heart for these insects.

Well, maybe the soft spot is in my head.

But I still enjoy their call.

I hope the ones in my back yard find each other and make a hook-up.

I enjoy happy endings, in case you didn�t know����..


In case you are wondering how I had time to type this withg my mom hanging out here, I wrote this on Friday. Kinda like a bad sitcom, I had this entry in the can.....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top