Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Aug. 01, 2002 - 6:37 p.m.

An appropriate quote for today, more trouble for the D.D.N., and a tree rat update�.

�Evil is always angry and hurtful. It always delights in the misery of others.�---Rabbi Mark Gellman, in a recent Reader�s Digest magazine article (that I was reading today)

In a related story, Today is August 1. Since it is the first day of the month, that means it was time for a new �temporary lead worker�.

This month it is Pumpkinhead�s turn to be that person.

Somehow, this all makes sense��.


When I came home from work yesterday, I counted three tree rats in my small dwarf peach tree, and another two in the �Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!� to go along with them.

Now, let me remind you of the fact that my peaches are still a good 10 days from being tree-ripened (yeah, like that will ever happen here!), so it�s not like there is this overpowering aroma of peachiness in the air. Most of the fruit is still more green than yellow. I cut one up yesterday from the many that the rodents had dropped partially eaten to the ground, and the fruit inside is still very hard and green.

Last year at this time (see what having my �journal� for over a year is good for?) the fruit was being picked and preserved. Well, what the tree rats left alone anyway.

This year, with the late spring and lack of summer rains, the fruit is about two weeks late. Since it has been so dry around here, they are extra hungry. I even put a few ears of field corn out for them to eat (instead of the peaches-hah!), but that hasn�t slowed them down at all.

Anyway, back to yesterday��

I put a new CO2 cartridge into the bb gun, and walked down to the garden area. By the time I made it to the tree, naturally the three in the peach tree had dropped and ran. Two made it through the fence, and the third joined his fruit Jihad partners in the B.W.T.f.H.!

I couldn�t see any of them (age, you know), but I knew they were up there somewhere. Since the tree is 75� tall, there is plenty of room for them to hide.

So, lacking any other option (besides dynamite), I shot a random bb at one of the many rat nests in the tree.

That worked. All three started scurrying around the trunk, trying to reach the ground. While they were doing this, I was hitting them with my underpowered bb launcher.

You remember those moving shooting galleries they used to have carnivals? Where if you hit a moving duck, the target fell over, scoring you points for your marksmanship?

It was kinda like that, only more comical because of my lousy aim. I might have nicked them a few times each, but did no serious damage to any of them. After my CO2 cartridge ran out of steam, they all three leapt from the tree to the ground, scurrying off to regroup.

Today, there were another 30 new peaches on the ground. The one tree rat still eating ran away.

Since they have done so much damage to the crop on this tree, I decided to remove the remaining �good� peaches to (hopefully) ripen in the basement. I left any partially eaten or bug damaged fruit on the tree for them to fight over.

Now, if that will only keep them busy for a few more days. The nectarines are starting to �give� a little when pressed, so they are only a few days from being ready to harvest.


DrugDealingNeighbor update:

He�s back in jail.

The parents of the two young men he ran over last week called the police, complaining that he had come to their house and threatened them. I think he thought he could scare them into getting their boys to drop the charges.

That�s not all�

His best friend (and the guy I thought might have been his main delivery person) was shot in the head on Tuesday night.

He died early this morning.

It�s probably a good thing that he is back in jail. If they executed his main man, what would be to stop them from breaking into his house to try to kill him?

By the way- all of this is true, and none of it is exaggerated in any way. All the facts can be found (minus what we have learned from a relative-in-law of D.D.N, that is) in our local paper.

I couldn�t make this stuff up if I tried�.


I don�t know how long the local paper keeps their news stories up, but you might want to click on this link today, if you have a spare minute or two.

The story is about the town to our south, and the problem they have in keeping a sign up entering their town.

The name of the town?

Well, let�s just say it the 1970�s name for a nice piece of ass.

There, I got you, didn�t I?

Go on, read the article.

The writer had a bunch of fun making play-on-words involving this town�s name.

This town even had a fictional wine maker they years ago. It was the brainchild of the morning rock d.j. on our local radio station.

The place (he invented) was known as �The Hiney Winery�.

Like I said, I can�t make this stuff up����.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top