Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Aug. 08, 2002 - 4:33 p.m.

The entry about men�s fast pitch softball and inventory��.

So, I have a few minutes before I have to head to the ball diamonds to spend my Thursday evening scoring.

No, not the good kind of scoring. I am happily married, after all.

No, I mean the kind of scoring where you have to keep track of balls and strikes, outs and runs.

Official scoring, you might call it.

The men�s state softball championship tourney.

And not even the best teams. No, today I found out that we are scoring two games for teams in the �B� tourney.

I just can�t wait!

Someone at work said it best: �You need to learn how to say no�.

Nope. Not gonna happen.

The guy who asked us has helped us out (sports-wise) before. So I didn�t want to leave him shorthanded.

But why couldn�t it be the boy�s Pony state championship?

At least baseball games have a few runs scored in them. Men�s fast pitch softball games usually end up 1-0 in extra innings.

Sorta like soccer, without strange haircuts.

And, if they score a run, they don�t tear off their jersey and go into some pre-planed �spontaneous celebration�.

There. That ought to do it: I have found a way to piss off both soccer players and adult men�s fast pitch softball players in the same entry��


I found out a little more about the audit I will be subjected to at work (next month).

And I have come to this conclusion: I am basically fucked.

The auditors want to see a paper trail from when I picked up supplies (a filter, say), to until it was installed on a vehicle. In between, I should have a way to show them when I bought it, where I inventoried it, when I brought it downstairs to give it to a shop monkey, and when it was charged out to that piece of equipment.

I can�t do that.

I can show them the papers from when I picked the supplies up. I can show them where I registered the supplies in my files. I can show them when I moved the supply into our storage�s supplies downstairs.

But I can�t show them anything more. Doing inventory in the year 2002 using anything but a computer is slow, wasteful, and it�s nearly impossible to do when your job duties include ANYTHING besides keeping inventory. Since I still plow snow, mix brine, and have other duties year-round, I can�t be sure of every single bit of my inventory.

I might have mentioned it before, but if not: I don�t have a computer.

I have a set of flip-files that has the date �1937� stamped on the backside. I am down to my last set of cards for this antique, and then I will be out of luck.

That is, unless I can find something over at the state surplus warehouse from, say, the 1940�s that I can use for a few more years.

Will we ever get a computer for this job?

Probably not while I work for the state.

Remember- I can�t retire for at least 12 years.

The state never moves quickly����.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top