Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 09, 2002 - 7:51 p.m.

I couldn�t wait�.plus, has MOM returned to her former self? Oh yeah, and I reprint the Peach Salsa recipe that I use for canning today��.

Yeah, tonight is officially the start of our vacation.

I couldn�t wait.

I took two hours of Personal Business, and left the storage at 1 pm.

Why, you might have asked (but I can�t hear you, so play along)?

#1. I was tired from our late night last night. Even though the games on our diamond ended first, I still ended up with another night of short sleep. I was lights out at 11:30, and the alarm shocks me to life at 5.

Folks: that is not enough sleep for an old-timer like me. Therefore, I wanted to leave early.

#2. MOM is back on the rampage. How bad? In the last 48 hours, she has:

Gave the summer hourly (Bubba) a terrible evaluation. She said that he �was unmotivated� and that he� stood around and talked too much�.

Duh! He is getting minimum wage. He didn�t like painting. He didn�t just stand around and talk. He found odd jobs to keep himself busy . He didn�t fuck off all day. At least , not more than anyone else does out there�.

Just before I was to leave today, she came into the toolroom and asked me �Where did you take my truck today!!! Someone hit it!!!�

I went out and check out the damage, and I came to a rather easy conclusion: he truck either hit (or was hit by) an open-wheeled vehicle. Tractor, wheel loader, backhoe. You get the picture.

A tire rubbing the back quarter panel of her truck caused all of the damage. I was able to scrape pieces of rubber off of the metal. This could have happened any time in the last three days.

But, no I did it. I admit it. I took her truck 9actually the state�s truck) to the local Grainger store for supplies (where nobody was in the parking lot besides me, btw) and I let some large open wheeled vehicle bump me before I left.

That cinched it for me. I signed out and started my weekend 2 hours early.

I was ready��.


What did I do with the extra time?

I had the oil changed on the car.

I went to credit union and picked up our cash for the vacation.

I picked all my ripe tomatoes and made a double-batch of mild salsa (19 pints).

I picked about one-third of my Catawba grapes and made a batch of grape jam (11 half-pints).

I mowed and weed-eated the yard (even though it�s so damn dry that nothing is really growing. I did it more to chop down the weeds than anything. That, and mow where the �overspray� from the sprinkler hits the grass around the garden beds).

I collapsed on the couch, and ordered a pizza.

Hey, even I have my limits��


One last thing.

I had 5 (5!) hits today on my web site from people Googling for this: (Peach Salsa Recipe).

O.k., enough is enough.

I give up. I will just post the recipe here, for all who want it (I think I did this in d-land last summer, but can�t figure out when. Maybe this will help somebody out who wants to make a batch themselves�):

Peach Salsa

Recipe By : I have no idea

Serving Size : 3 pints Preparation Time :0:00

Categories : Sauces

Amount Measure Ingredient -- Preparation Method

-------- ------------ --------------------------------

6 cups peaches -- peeled and diced

1 1/4 cups red onion -- chopped

4 jalapeno peppers -- chopped

1 red pepper � chopped(or two or three mild chili peppers-I grow Anaheim for this kinda use)

1/2 cup fresh cilantro -- chopped

1/2 cup white vinegar (nope- I use lime juice. 1 Tbs. Per pint jar, added before you fill with salsa)

2 tablespoons honey

1 clove garlic -- finely chopped

1 1/2 teaspoons cumin (I skip this item. Cumin and peaches don�t seem right to me)

1/2 teaspoon cayenne

Simmer for 5 minutes. Pack into hot jars and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes (0-1000 ft.), 15 minutes (1001-6000 ft.), and 20 minutes (above 6000 ft.).

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

A few asides�

Everything that is in parenthesis are changes I have made to the recipe to suit our tastes. They don�t change the ph, so they don�t spoil the canning process.

I didn�t make this recipe myself. I downloaded it from one of the free websites I frequent. For that reason, I don �t think there is any problem with me reprinting it here.

I ALWAYS double or triple the ingredients, and make a bigger batch. Even then, it only makes about 8 pints.

I figure- if you�re gonna heat up the house to can something, you might as well make it worth the trouble.

This salsa is great cold with chips (like most salsas), but is even better warmed up a little and put on top of either grilled chicken or seafood (tuna or shrimp are excellent choices).

Enjoy!

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top