Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Aug. 10, 2002 - 9:39 p.m.

Today was Lease�s (sorry, I can�t mention what today was)�plus another strange fishing story�

Today is August 10th .

You might have noticed that on the line above my entry that D-land pastes onto every entry.

Today is also one of the toughest days of the year for my Lease.

It�s the day on which she was �..um,�..born a few years back.

No, it�s not a problem for the usual � woman+ getting older= ARGH!� reasons.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

(Look, I just deleted about six paragraphs explaining why she doesn�t enjoy celebrating her birthday. Since this is my �journal�, I decided that it�s her story and not mine. If she ever decides to have a diary here, she can tell you the whole story. I will just say this one thing: it�s totally her mother�s fault that she doesn�t enjoy this day. Enough said)

This year, I waited until late in the week to ask her if there was anything she would like me to do for her birthday.

She told me to not buy a gift, and that she would find something that she wanted on vacation.

Fine. No big gift.

This morning, I still hadn�t bought anything. I knew I would have time to stop by the store and get her some trinkets (flowers, candy, etc.).

I think she was expecting a computer-made card this morning, but I hadn�t done that either.

Opps.

I found a funny one at the store, and also picked her up a bouquet of yellow roses and a bag of Mounds� (her favorite candy) before she was ready to leave the house this morning.

That seemed to cheer her up.

Next week, while on vacation, she might decide that she wants something special. Then, she will have her gift.

That�s the only way to do it��


So, what did we do for her b-day?

Her sister Jules wanted to take her out in her boat.

That was cool with her, so that�s what we did.

Lease, Jules, Codeman, his g-friend Chelsea, and myself drove up to the Power Plant lake for a little swimming, boating, and fishing (me, of course).

I put her boat in at the ramp that is located in the basin that also contains the hot water flume from the nuclear reactor. I should have known better.

When we finally stopped in a cove to swim, the water temperature was at least �warm bathtub�. We didn�t stay there for long. I drove the boat back to the area before the flume, hoping that the water would be cooler there.

It was, but not by much. The women swam (or, in Lease�s case, put their feet into the water- she doesn�t swim) Codeman reclined in the shade, and I tried to catch some gullible fish.

I have been reading (in the local paper the past few weeks) that the carp had been the best bet, hitting dough ball and canned corn all over the lake. For that reason, I brought along a can of Libby�s sweet corn.

I threw a few handfuls of the corn into the channel by the boat (in the second cove), and spent the next hour casting fruitlessly for these rubber-lipped fish.

I gave up, and went to a chunk of nightcrawlers. I figured the bluegill would cooperate.

They did, to a degree. I picked up a few small fish. Since I wasn�t planning on keeping anything, their small size didn�t bother me.

I had a small bite, and thought it was another bluegill.

Wrong. It was a carp. It must have been sucking up the corn, and found my worm in the process.

I fought him for about ten minutes, and then Codeman held the rod as I pulled him into the boat.

Not bad. He went about 6 pounds. Since I was using light tackle, that was a fun fight.

After releasing him, we decided to try another cove. The one we were in was too stumpy for proper swimming.

I moved the boat to a cove that had a sandy shoreline. That was better, and the water wasn�t deep at all. When I entered the water, it only came to my waste. We were about 50 feet from the shore.

A perfect place to wade out and fish.

I worked my way towards the bank, looking for some structure that would hold fish. I found a small chunk of concrete about 20 feet from the boat, and threw a chunk of worm close to it.

By the time we were ready to move on, I had caught about 30 nice big male bluegills.

Why male? They were on spawning beds!

Whenever I removed one from the hook, it�well, it leaked (if you know what I mean).

They were all big humped-headed bulls, and provided me about an hour of great fishing.

Why were they spawning in August?

Simple. This part of the lake is heated so well by the power plant, the fish spawn in March. That�s about 2 months before they should! Since bluegill can spawn twice a year (in perfect conditions), it shouldn�t have surprised me that they were at it again.

This is the first time in my (long) life that I can remember find spawning bluegills in August. So, this was another odd day of fishing for me. I might not get out there as often as i would like to, but when I have gone this year it has been interesting.

Just a great way to spend the day. With my birthday girl, catching some fish, and enjoying a great day on the water.

Tomorrow?

Maybe the State Fair. Maybe nothing.

It don�t matter, though- I don�t have to think about work for another 9 days��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top