Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2002 - 5:52 p.m.

Shit! Shit! Shit!��.and, reason #482 why I hate the Evil Black Walnut Tree From Hell!

I just hung up the phone, and I received some bummer news.

Nephew J-Rod is moving to the major university town 60 miles away. He wants us to help him move his stuff this weekend.

Yes, it�s sad seeing him move. My grocery shopping will be curtailed greatly once he leaves. It�s cool that he will be living less than 5 blocks from the university�s stadiums (can you say tailgate!), but that�s all fine and good. He is now 23, and he really doesn�t need to be living at home with his mother anymore (I would think that would cramp your dating style a little, don�t you?).

No, that wasn�t the bummer news. It�s worse than that.

His new apartment is located just across the street from my Korean grocery store. You know the one I always talk about hitting while in town? With the kind older woman who always asks us how the boy is doing and how my garden is growing?

It�s closed down.

Yes, the sobbing sound you hear is coming from my keyboard.

Yes, I can get many of the things I by there from other sources. There are a couple of stores in Bloomington (50 miles north) that carry many of the specialty items I need . I can probably buy many of the sauces and such from the Internet. The garden seeds (all in Korean, so I depended on her for translation) might be a little tougher to find.

But no more Mrs. Lee?

Say it ain�t so!

I told J-Rod that his first assignment in town will be to find someone who knows why the store is closed down and what has happened to Mrs. Lee.

SHIT!


One more bit of information from our vacation:

Codeman and I went to a morning practice of the Green Bay Packers on Tuesday.

Yeah, I know- I am a huge Bears fan.

Hey- it�s not like the Packers are the Cleveland/Los Angeles / Anaheim/ St. Louis/ Who Knows Where Next Lambs or anything, right?

They are one of the original teams from the year after the N.F.L was formed, way back in 1921. They have a long history of intense games with the Bears, and are always the team that I want to see do well if the men from Chicago are having a suckie year.

Now, you can�t say anything like that in Green Bay. If you live there, it is a requirement that you not only dislike the Bears, you have to make insulting comments about them with someone who makes the mistake of mentioning that they might be from Illinois.

Or, at least that was what I experienced last week( no, not from Weetabix or her husband. They only mildly kidded us about our choice of teams. Anybody else who learned where we were from? Open season )..

All in good fun, I�m sure (I hope, anyway).

These practices are free, and open to the public. And the public, they do come. The team practices directly east of Lambeau Stadium. There are so many people wanting to watch these practices, the city just blocks traffic in two of the four lanes to give people to move around the practice field. Bleachers are set up all along the sidewalk, packed with people on all 6 rows. I would have to guess the crowd as around 3000 each time we drove by the area.

I made the mistake of wearing my Illinois hat to the practice. I received a ton of good-natured ribbing about the weak team that my favorite school fields in football (Big Ten Champions last year) and basketball (the winner of the last two Big Ten Men�s basketball championships).

I�m just glad that Codeman didn�t wear his Bears football jersey anytime we were in town.

The practice was just that- a practice. It�s work for the players, especially the ones who are borderline on making the team.

I enjoyed it, despite the hazing. I was raised to pull for both teams, so if was great to be less than 15 feet from Brett Farve, and whoever else is playing for the team these days���.


Oh yeah, reason #482 why I hate the tree��.

It�s a Black Walnut tree. That, naturally, means it produces black walnuts.

Tons of them.

They start falling as soon as the tree rats decide they might be food. The furry little bastards (reason #869 why I hate THEM) spend all day, removing one nut at a time from the tree, then biting a small portion of the hard, smelly green layer from each nut, deciding that it�s not ready to eat, and then dropping them from 70 feet up.

Yes, I have been hit by falling partially eaten nuts in the past. Nowadays, the only time they get close to hitting me is when the mower is running. When mowing I can�t hear the nuts falling through the branches.

I just know the tree rats wait for me to be in range. Then it�s bombs away!

I spent 40 minutes of my life today, picking up the discarded fruit. Why?

So I could mow the lawn without breaking my ankles.

I swear, if lightning doesn�t help me soon, I will have that monster dropped this winter.

I better start putting the money back now. I know it will cost a bunch, mainly because it is in a residential area. Wires cross all over it, houses are within its fall path, and all those tree rats have nests in the uppermost branches(reason #245 for the tree, #176 for the tree rats why I hate them).

But I don�t care. It�s time has come

It�s either it or me, and I am not going anywhere��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top