Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2002 - 4:17 p.m.

It�s too hot! Wisconsin spoiled me, that�s what it is. Plus beets and audits�.

Damn, it�s just unbearably humid and hot today.

I planned on doing a little weed pulling and such when I came home tonight (at least that was the plan on Monday, when I tried to figure out what needed done around the house), but the heat index is around 105�. Anything over 100�, and I throw in the towel.

So the weed grasses have another day to soak in the sun.

They better enjoy it while they can. Before the week is over, I will remove the offenders from my garden.


I pulled the rest of my beet crop from my garden at work this morning (before work, of course). It was not that bad at 6:20, so I started by pulling some of the grasses that have taken over much of my free space in the work beds. While doing this, I realized that the tiny beet plants that I left in the ground back in early July had matured to full size in the time since. I didn�t even notice them at first, because the grass had completely hid them form view. I have enough for about 5 pints of canned pickled beets, and a few left for Harvard beets.

You know what I speak of, don�t you? Harvard beets are just cooked beets in a thick, sweet sauce. I downloaded a few recipes a while back for this side dish, and I will decide which one sounds the best (or easiest) when I can the beets.

That will be tomorrow, because Lease worked a half-day today (due to her having to work this Saturday). No reason to heat up the house and can when we can spend some time eating a nice dinner that someone else makes for us, is there?


One last thing, before I get away from this keyboard:

I found out today (at work) that the two people from our headquarters who give me the most grief (about the toolroom and what I spend money on and such) are stopping by tomorrow to give me a �pre-audit screening� (their words).

Oh joy!

So, not only do I have to sit through a ass-reaming next week, I get to have my methods questioned and criticized by more people this week!

I told the woman who called me today that I wouldn�t be at work tomorrow. She told me that I had to be there. I replied, �Well, I guess I can put off my chemotherapy for a day�.

Kidding, folks.

She didn�t know what to say to that, stumbling over her words, but she finally asked me, �Would that be possible?�.

I let her know that it was just my weird sense of humor, and that Beavis had already warned me of their imminent visit.

Hey, as much crap as they give us (if you listen to the grapevine, everything that is bad in our district is because of our storage. Everything.), I have to get my fun where I can. Although both of these people are treating me with a little more civility than they did when I took over the toolroom, they still expect me to have a messed-up inventory, with lost paperwork and missing supplies.

Not. Gonna Happen.

I hope that they are pleasantly surprised. Although if I surprise them with the job I have done because it�s better than they expected, they will probably be disappointed.

Either way, I have finally come to this conclusion about (many of) the people from our headquarters:

Fuck them if they can�t take a joke��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top