Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 23, 2002 - 8:36 p.m.

It�s Friday night. Anybody reading this right now? I didn�t think so�

Today at work, a delivery truck for a local hardware store lost 7 buckets of asphalt driveway sealant on the busiest highway in town.

Hilarity ensued�.

Well, not really.

Before we could get there to direct traffic, many vehicles had drove through this glop. It was tracked for about a mile up the road, and I imagine several automotive clean-up shops in town were surprised with extra business later in the day.

MOM flipped out on the guys who went up to control the traffic and clean up the mess. First, she didn�t like the way they set up traffic control (the guys were right, because the technician who later showed up at the scene had them move the arrowboards back to where they had set them originally. MOM made them move them, which started a huge shouting match in the road. Did I mention that this was the busiest road in town already?).

Then, while we were controlling the flow of traffic, several cars were involved in a multi-car fender bender.

It was not our fault. That didn�t matter, thought. Everyone involved in the cleanup returned to the yard in a bad mood. Two of the guys (and MOM) burned vacation time to leave two hours early.

Damn, I sure miss being on the road these days�.


From the end of May until the 10th of August, we had about 3 inches of rain here in Mohall. We usually get about 10 inches in that time frame.

My gardens have been watered, but a hose is a sorry replacement for nature�s rainfall.

Since the 10th of August (13 days), we have had about 11 inches of rain. Over 4 inches in the last 24 hours.

West Nile Virus, here we come!

This will be good for the fall garden, but it�s too late to help the main crops in my garden. I have officially given up on melons (I think I mentioned that here earlier this week). My tomato harvest will be about 70% of normal, and my peppers are even worse. I still haven�t picked any bell peppers. Luckily for the salsa, I have had enough Jalapeno and Anaheim hot peppers to fill the jars.

This weekend I will make another large batch of salsa, and I will also try to can up a batch of Jalapeno pickled peppers. Bugs (from work) brought me a bag full, and I have enough in my garden to make it worth the hot and sweaty effort.


J-Rod showed up tonight for dinner. He also stopped by to watch the Bears game.

He didn�t realize that the game is to be tape-delayed, and won�t start until 10 p.m.

He has been up since Thursday afternoon. He spent the day moving most of his possessions to Collegetown. He has friends helping him move the big stuff tomorrow, so I won�t be hauling his stuff now after all (yea!). Not that I don�t want to help him, but tomorrow is the last day I have to spend time with Lease before she leaves for her job training seminar in Hillbilly Country on Sunday.

He is now sleeping in my Lazy-Boy�. That is why I have time to post this entry.

I will wake him up in another hour or so. He might get enough sleep by then to stay awake for the replay.

Yes, we are totally goofy Bears fans. I already know this fact. Nobody else would stay up late (and, in his case, miss sleep) to watch a re-broadcast of a preseason football game.

Oh yeah, one more thing�The Lambs are now 0-3 after losing to San Diego last night 31-10. Preseason or not, that makes me smile��


Hope y�all have a great weekend.

You better try, because there isn�t much time left to summer (if you live with us here in the Northern hemisphere).

Enjoy it while you can�����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top