Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Aug. 24, 2002 - 1:36 p.m.

Photos! Get your red-hot photos here!��and not much else (it�s Saturday, after all)�..

Since Lease has to leave tomorrow for her job-training seminar, I have spent this morning getting as much as I can done for her here at casa Roadiepig. She had to put in 4 hours this morning at work, which doesn�t leave much time for anything else today when she gets home.

I usually avoid the laundry like the plague. But today I did all three loads so she wouldn�t do it when she gets home. I even put the clean sheets on the beds.

Hey, I just hate doing the laundry, that�s all. Lease knows that, and she doesn�t ask me to do anything besides carry the clothes up and down the stairs.

I can handle that.

I also processed another large batch of tomato salsa. This one ended up being very mild, so I might have to add a little Cholula� hot sauce to it when I eat it down the road. I ended up with 19 pints, plus a partial for us to eat today.

I made it up to the farmer�s market downtown, but didn�t come away with much. I did get a peck of peaches and a few large bell peppers for the salsa. My sweet peppers have been bad this year, and I needed a few more to make the salsa today. I also bought some inexpensive iris tubers. I don�t need them, but I found a few small areas to drop them in in the perennial garden.

And now�.I wait for Lease��..


Here are the pictures mentioned above:

The first one is of my garden here at the house. I shot it this morning to show you how green everything is right now with all the rain we have had lately. The largest green blobs center to top are my tomato plants. The yellow you might see is from Fusarium wilt. It�s mainly on the heirloom tomatoes, which have poor resistance to this disease:


This photo is of the bizarre mushrooms (toadstools?) that pop up in our front yard every August. This year we have a bumper crop of the green-brown fungi. I wish they were edible, because I have at least 200 of these fist-sized �shrooms:


The last shot is of a flower that I think more people should grow in their flowerbeds. It�s common name is garden balsam. It�s also know as the �touch me not� because it�s seed pods burst when ripe, scattering seeds all around the plant. . The plant is a close relative of the more common Impatient plant, which almost everybody with shade has growing in their flower beds.

What I like about this flower is how well it reseeds itself. These flowers all started from last year�s dropped seeds. I didn�t have to plant any in this area, but I did have to thin a few of the volunteers that sprouted this spring.

If I hadn�t, they would have been so crowded they would have been stunted.

The flowers bloom in many of the same shades as the Impatient, and have a long blooming season in the right condition.


O.k., that�s it. Lease just walked in the front door, so I am out of here.

Later��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top