Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Aug. 25, 2002 - 5:33 p.m.

Lease is away for only one hour and ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE!!!!! (photos included)�..

What a melancholy morning. We woke up like most every other Sunday morning. We slept in about 2 hours later than we do on weekdays, and then I went to the kitchen to start cooking breakfast.

That is where the usual ended.

Lease washed her hair and started preparing for her trip to Hillbilly country. I don�t think she got much sleep last night, worrying about the drive (in a panel van from her workplace), the time away from home and family, and all the information they will be cramming into their heads this week.

She will do fine. I know that. But, as odd as it sounds, she will spend more consecutive days away from me (and, visa versa) by the time she comes home next Friday.

Yes, that�s right: 6 days apart will be the longest �separation� we have experienced in 23 years of living together.

I recharged her phone card for 300 minutes of talk time, just in case she gets homesick.

I think they will keep her so busy during the day that she won�t think about anything else at the time.

Come on, calendar- move!


Oh yeah, the �all Hell breaks loose� part, right?

This morning, after dropping her off at Crystal�s house, I came home and spent a little time doing yard work. I was pulling some weeds in the rose bed when Rowdy, the DrugDealingNeighbor�s dog started making a commotion. I had a treat bone in my back pocket for him anyway, so I stopped my work and went to his pen.

As I was giving him his treat, D.D.N called down to me, asking me what I was doing. After telling him what I did, he came down with a leash. He engaged in a little small talk with me, and then said he really needed to take the dog for a walk. He slapped the lead on Rowdy, and off they went.

At the time I thought it was odd that he was even paying attention to the dog, let alone was taking him for a walk.

I went into the house and was in the process of pouring myself a nice, cold lemonade when the phone rang.

The person on the other end (who must remain anonymous here) said �It�s time. Don�t go near your windows, but in about 30 seconds D.D.N�s door will be coming down. Wait- there they are!�

A van and two cars (all undercover at the time) came to a screeching halt in front of our two houses. The van door opened , and 7 swat team member poured out, battering rams and automatic rifles drawn.

I yelled at Codeman to get the camera, and we both ran up the stairs to the computer room. By the time I was able to get the camera on, most of the SWAT members were already in the house.

For that reason, these photos are a little lame. The first two were shot from the bedroom window. I missed all the cool �COPS� show action, but I took a few anyway.

I thought at first that someone or something had tipped him off that the police were on their way. It may still out that was what happened, but he really did take his dog for a walk. They found him, and brought him back to his house in the back seat of a squad car. Several cops surrounded him and led him into the house, where they spent the next two hours sipping tea and discussing the upcoming baseball strike.

And then again, maybe not�.

After two hours, all the police piled into their various vehicles and left. They had several cases of who-knows-what that they carted off with them, but they must have come up dry on the drug cache front because they left without the D.D.N.

Could he have known they were coming today? Or has he just lowered his profile since the vehicular homicide? It seems awful strange that he decided to take his neglected dog for a walk minutes before his door gets knocked down, doesn�t it? Did he take any evidence with him on the walk and hand it off to someone in a car or something?

Unless it�s in the paper we will not know. The police have to be keeping a close eye on him now. They generally do that with murderers.

Oh yeah, I forgot to update you on THAT little incident , didn�t I?

Well�..one of the youths he ran over died while we were on vacation. That makes him a murderer now, if I am not mistaken.

And he is still running his little �empire� and is still a free man as I write.

His time is coming soon, mark my works�..


O.k., here are the photos.

Please remember that we live in Mohall, North Dakota. If you don�t like what is going on in my neighborhood, send any complaints you have to �Yeah, Like We Care�, c/o the Police Department of Mohall, 9787 North Coldaintit Road, Mohall, N.D. 58761.

First shot (bad pun, because there were no shots fired) is of one of the swat members right after the door went crashing down and they realized that he wasn�t in the house:

This one shows my pal Rowdy coming home, minus his master. I think that is his sis-in-law walking him, and the small child in front of them is one of his sons. Great role model his dad is, eh? D.D.N. was already back in the house by this time:

The last photo shows one of the armor-covered door busters as he returned to the van to strip off some of his heavy gear. By this time we were sitting in the neighbor across the street�s front lawn with about one half of the neighborhood�s residents. We all figured that once the automatic rifles were put up inside the van, no shots would be fired.

This watching nothing became boring rather quickly, so I went home.

I went back to what I had planned to do before the excitement (what was that? I canned up 9 pints of jalapeno peppers).

If anything else happens in this ongoing drama, you can be assured that I will let you know here first.

Until then?

Life goes on�������.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top