Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2002 - 9:26 p.m.

Damn, I hate ladders!�.

Yeah, I went ahead and started the �Second Floor of Casa Roadiepig Painting Project� tonight.

Here was my plan:

I wanted to paint all the white trim, both front and back, so that it would have time to dry before I started on the black paint tomorrow. Since there is only a small amount of white area to paint, I figured I would get it all after work tonight.

The only thing I didn�t add to the equation?

The heavy muthafuka (Word� changed the word Mother Fucker to muthafuka- how crazy is that?) of a ladder wore me out!

How, you ask?

Well, the ladder that Mikey loaned me is so tall, I can almost paint the entire second floor with JUST ONE SECTION!

I think you could reach the top of the tallest barn in Bumfuck with this beast.

It is made of aluminum, but that doesn�t mean anything. It is a heavy-duty ladder, designed for commercial use. It could hold both Codeman and me with no problem.

This combination makes for a very steady, easy to paint from ladder.

It also makes for a very hard to move ladder.

I figured out pretty quickly that I should just do the whole front tonight, instead of dragging it around to the back to stick with the white paint.

I started from the left side of the house, and did all the trim starting there and heading right.

The first time I walk up a tall ladder, I freeze up at least once. The left side of the house has slightly slanted terrain, due to my flowerbeds. I had to play around with the setting until I had it on solid ground.

I have a philosophy about heights:

I am not afraid of heights.

I am afraid of FALLING from heights

Pretty simple, huh?

The problem with this setup is I ended up with the ladder at a less-steep angle than I like. Whenever you climb up a ladder that isn�t basically straight up (about a 70-80� angle is best), the thing shakes like an old alcoholic with every step you take.

This has a way of taking the strength out of my legs, for some silly reason.

By the time I had made it all the way right, I decided to crack out the black paint and work my way back to where I started. I just couldn�t see dragging that heavy ladder around more than I had to.

By the time I finished the black painting, I was dehydrated and completely week in the knees.

But, you know what?

I have exactly � of the painting project done!

I will do the same to the back of the house tomorrow.

But one thing will be different: I did the front in about 3 hours, and finished just before the sun set in the horizon. And I did this after putting in a full day at work today (stop laughing!)

Tomorrow?

I will turn the alarm clock off.

I will wake up when Codeman gets up for his school day, about 2 hours later than my wake-up time.

I will pace myself much better than I did today.

And I will take numerous breaks. I think I have some weeds that need pulled in my garden beds.

That doesn�t require me to drag my height-impaired ass up the ladder�..


Still miss my Lease.

I tried to sleep on her side of the bed (a recommendation from Strangerlucy. That might have helped some, because I slept straight through last night.

That doesn�t mean I don�t miss her, though.

I called her last night late (around 11 pm their time) , and she was not in great shape. She had spent a little time in the hotel bar with her coworker Crystal, and all that did was make them even more homesick. I tried my best to get her in a better mood, but the combination of homesickness and Miller Lite� was too strong. By the time I told her good night, she had gone through way too many emotions. I will call her as soon as I post this entry, hoping she had a better day today.

She left a message on the answering machine around 6 p.m. tonight, but I was on the death-ladder at the time.

I have replayed the message several times since I came inside, just to hear her voice.

Yeah, I am pathetic.

So sue me��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top