Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Sept. 01, 2002 - 8:08 p.m.

The things you see when your backyard is a "nature preserve"��.

This morning, while reading the Home section of the local paper, I realized that it was time to get a few last crops planted in the vegetable garden. It suddenly dawned on me that today was the first of September / the day I�ll always remember/ �cause that was the day that my daddy died /. No, wait, that was the third of September, and it wasn�t my dad. He is still alive and doing fine. That poppa was a rolling stone, if my memory serves me right.

Wait, where was I? Oh yeah�.

If I wanted to have any fall lettuce, I needed to get it in the ground pronto. I also threw in a few short-time green bean seeds, with the hope that we don�t have another early frost. Most years I can get to late October before a killer, so there is still time.

As I approached the garden, I noticed what I thought was a sparrow, sitting on my grape vines. Just what I feared: the birds had finally found a way to get under the netting I strung to protect the grapes, just days before the crop was ready for harvest.

But the closer I got to the vines it became apparent that I was wrong. Maybe it was the constant chatter coming from the trees above me. Then, as I was less than 10 feet from the vines, a single male cardinal dove from the Evil Black Walnut Tree From Hell and flew within a few feet of my head, returning to the branch he came from.

Odd behavior, I must say.

Since the bird was still on the grape vine, I slowly approached it, fearing it was ensnared in the netting.

It wasn�t stuck. I wasn�t a sparrow, either.

It was a baby cardinal. It looked far to young to be out of the nest, but it had to have flown to the vines from its nest (located in a bird�s nest gourd I hung in a tree 20 feet away). It must have been out on its first flight, and had landed at that spot, afraid to fly further.

By this point, I was less than 5 feet away from the hatchling, and I didn�t want to scare it (or anger it�s parents) anymore than I already had. I went quietly back inside our house, and returned with the digital camera to take the following shots for your viewing pleasure�..

Here is the youngun�, perched on the vines:

Hears the dad, looking down on me quite menacingly:

And here is mom:

Now, you�re probably thinking, Roadiepig, isn�t it too late in the year for birds to be having their babies?� right?

Yeah, I would have thought the same thing a few years back. But, for some reason the cardinals up here always seem to be the last birds to sire their young every summer. Maybe it�s because they are not migratory, so the need to grow to full-sized adults by late fall isn�t that important to the species. Maybe they have more than one hatch of young every summer.

I don�t know for sure, but for the past three years we have had a pair raise their young in our backyard into the fall. It might be the same pair. I just clean the gourd out every winter, removing all the small twigs that the cardinals use for a nest.

So far this summer we have had (that we could see) a nest of mourning doves, two sparrow nests (in the ivy vines on the back of our house), and now these cardinals.

A few years back we had a pair of screech owls use our back yard to raise their young. One morning, a neighbor called me over to tell me that she had watched the babies, under their mothers watchful eyes, rip some other bird's babies out of a nest (in another gourd I had hung) in the tree. She said it was pretty gruesome, but I reminded her that it was just nature in full display for her to see.

I had to clean up the mess, though. That wasn�t too cool�.


Lease and I drove to the closest outlet mall to our town of Mohall today. It was a thirty minute drive, and worth the trip.

She picked up some great buys on clothing (sweaters, unmentionables and such), I found several rude t-shirts for the boy, and we bought some new cookie sheets and kitchen utensils at bargain prices.

All that was good, but I ended up scoring the best bargain.

I have needed to replace my old work blue jeans for a while now. After painting the house last week, I took the pair I wore both days and threw them in the garbage. That reduced me to only one pair of regular work jeans.

So either I had to take a pair of my �good jeans� and make them work jeans, or I had to buy some new cheap jeans for the workplace instead.

The outlet mall had just filled one of its anchor stores with a new V.F. outlet. It just opened last month. Since I have bought Lee� and Wrangler� jeans from one of these store down south in the past, I was glad they decided to open a store closer to home.

Today�s haul? Four pair of what the label �irregular� Wrangler� relaxed fit (for a relaxed body) jeans for only $10 a pair! I looked these jeans up and down, and I couldn�t find what they thought was wrong with them. On several other pairs on the rack, it was obvious: a few tiny holes here, a seam off there, and some with die or fabric problems.

But the pairs I bought had nothing like that to be seen. Like I said, these will be WORK JEANS, so it doesn�t matter to me if they were deemed unworthy of full price status. I just picked up two years worth of new work jeans for $40!

You can�t beat that with a stick.

I also bought a pair of full- priced Lees� for $18 (not bad), and three different Chicago Bears t-shirts for $10 each. Two hooded zipper-front sweatjackets (one for Codeman and one for me) at $12 each rounded out my purchase. Lease didn�t find anything she wanted there, but she didn�t mind. She is always getting on me for not buying myself new clothing. She can�t say that after today, I guess.

I am stocked up with new clothes to last me a good long time����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top