Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Sept. 03, 2002 - 8:37 p.m.

This won�t take long, but I can�t promise it will be painless�..

I have done the best I can to write a new entry here every day. It might be about nothing important, but it�s here, none the less.

But tonight, I am victim of a dull day. Trying to find something in it worth writing about is stretching things a bit, even for me.

I went to work. Paid a bunch of State bills that were sitting on my desk from last week. Ran the hose back to the now parched-again garden and moved it a few times during the day.

Bought both gas and milk on the way home from work.

Ran the Weedeater� for an hour, and then was surprised by nephew J-Rod. He was standing by the back fence, waiting to see how long it would take me to notice him. It took about 10 minutes, according to his watch.

So, the lawn didn�t get mowed today. I invited him to stay for supper, since he was in town, and he accepted.

We went into the house, and had a conversation while I made Lease and my lunches for tomorrow and put the finishing touches on supper.

I had already started the bread before he stopped by, so all I had to do was take the dough out of the bread machine and roll it into loaves. The main course was a lasagna that Lease and I had assembled on Sunday. I also fried up a skillet full of sliced okra, mainly because it had been in the fridge since last week. I didn�t want to have to freeze it (which is what I do with extra okra from the garden), so I made the unorthodox pairing as the side dish for the pasta.

J-Rod spent some time surfing on my computer while I went to the basement and took my shower. I also folded the laundry and carried it to the bedroom.

Lease was home by 5:30, and the bread came out of the oven minutes later. One loaf was quickly consumed (some with cold Bertolli� basil-tomato sauce, some dipped in a plate of olive oil with balsamic vinegar), the other was left for when Codeman came home.

The lasagna took almost an hour to bake, and it wasn�t worth the wait. We always wing it when we make lasagna, but the cheeses we used this time did not work well together. I think it was the soft cheese (whose name I can�t remember) that we picked up at Sams Club� this weekend. It was too sharp, and just a little odd tasting.

We always have enough in a pan for two meals, but the general consensus on this batch was pitch it.

All except J-Rod, who said he would take it home to eat later.

Bachelors. Any food is good food to them����


See what I meant in the second paragraph?

I have nothing here��


Oh, wait, I do have one other thing to write about.

Last night, Lease and I watch the tape of MTV�s Video Music Awards show from last Thursday.

I taped it back then for two reasons.

1. The show is always soooo long, full of commercials, and filled with �performances� I don�t want to sit through (remember �Bone Thugs and Harmony�s performance a few years back? Good example there). Nothing like a vcr for editing on the fly.

2. The Bears were playing their last pre-season football game. �Nuf said.

We watched it to see if we missed anything. We were somewhat disappointed. No major rap wars were acted upon. The closest thing was Eminem insulting Moby is his typical high-brow fashion ( �Stop booing! I�ll hit a woman in glasses� was the best line he could come up with).

It was pretty cool to see Axl Rose appear live again, even if he has an entirely new group behind him. They pulled off �Welcome to the Jungle� and �Paradise City� without a hitch.

Now, if they could just get Mr. Rose to finally release the long-awaited follow up to �Use Your Illusion I and II� (no, I didn�t forget �The Spaghetti Incident?�- That was a bunch of covers, not original material. �Use..I and II� were released way back in 1991!)

The Hives sounded good enough, the Vines sounded bad. They can take solace in the fact that most of the music sounded muddled or poorly mixed. Pretty bad production for MTV�s showcase event of the year.

I am still a huge music fan (like you didn�t know that already, right?).

But, for the last few years there just hasn�t been much on the VMA�s to get me going.

Or maybe I am just getting old����..


Like I said, nothing worth writing about here.

And I managed to drag this out all the way to page three on Microsoft Word�.

Sorry about that����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top