Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 16, 2002 - 7:20 p.m.

Back to �regular hours� at work, and some other little bits of info for your edification�..

Well, maybe �edification� is a little strong: nothing you read here will be morally or spiritually enlightening.

I just thought I would throw that word into the title.

Cool word though, isn�t it?


Yes, today was day one of the return to normal hours.

For us NDDOT employees, that would be 7:30 am to 4 pm.

You wouldn�t think that by starting work an hour later would make much of a difference, but it does to me. I woke up this morning at 5:30 am, just like I have every day for the last 3 months.

After Lease got out of bed and started her daily preparations, I attempted to go back asleep for another hour.

Attempted, because my body thought it was time to get going and wouldn�t let me fall back to �good� sleep.

I did doze off a little, but when the alarm went off at 6:30, it felt like only minutes had passed.

It will take a week or two to get back into the daily routine. Then, daylight savings time kicks in, and the process starts all over again��


I actually bought a couple of cds at a record store this weekend. New, and still wrapped in cellophane!

I didn�t want to wait for an auction the pick up the new Queens of the Stone Age disc (�Songs for the Deaf�). I have been a fan of their music since members Josh Homme and Nick Oliverri formed this band after the demise of their previous band, Kyuss. After spinning this disc a few times the past few days, I have to say it is their best music since 1994�s �Welcome to Sky Valley�. Hard rock with unique guitar sounds, this album also boasts the drum work of Dave Grohl (OF Nirvana and Foo Fighters fame). He seems to really be enjoying himself behind the drum kit, something he hasn�t done much of since the formation of the Foo Fighters in 1995.

Anyway, I just thought I would mention this cd here, and leave you with a link to MTV�s Q.O.T.S.A. page. There, you can click on a link to watch the crazy video for the first single, �No One Knows�.


MOM�s (at work) son Wes has the West Nile Virus. He is in his late thirties, and in decent health, so he should have a complete recovery. His doctor told him that he might have had this bug in his system for a month, since his first real �sick� symptoms were about 10 days ago. Like all viruses, you have to fight it off with your body�s own immune system. There are no drugs to kill it, only things you can take to control some of the effects (cough and high fever are common).

This virus also claimed its� first life in our county last week, killing a 69-year-old man here in Mohall. I read the article about this man, and I recognized his photo before I read that he was an avid fisherman. I had talked to him many times through the years while fishing the shoreline of Lake Mohall, which his daughter had mentioned as one of his favorite fishing areas.

She also mentioned that she couldn�t get him to use deet to repel the mosquitoes. That is just a shame, because if used properly Off� (or any other good mosquito repellant) will keep most of the blood suckers off of you.

I have been bit a few times in the past week or so, mainly because we are going through a very bad hatch right now. The rain that fell in mid-August has left us with a bumper crop of mosquitoes to deal with in mid-September.

Hopefully, I will be one of the majority of people who don�t catch the disease from a infected carrier.


I finished filling out the yearly janitorial, hand tools non-electric, and chain orders today.

Just in case you were wondering if would.


I picked 12 zucchini this morning, in various sizes. They are really producing now, as the cooler weather and occasional rain has triggered a new growth spurt in the plants.

I�m still getting about 15 or 20 nice okra pods every other day, too. They will slow down as soon as the temperatures fall into the 50�s at night. Better enjoy them while I can.

I�m still getting radishes on a regular basis. I try to throw a few seeds out every week, and so far that has kept a continuous harvest going since mid August. They will only stop when a hard freeze hits us.

I don�t want that to happen until November, if possible��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top