Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002 - 8:32 p.m.

Lightning crashes, and I can feel it�.

Yeah, bonus points if you got the title�.


So today, we finally received some of the rain that avoided us all summer.

The day started out with overcast skies. We had received about � of an inch of rain overnight. That was enough to make things wet and sticky (sounds like a P-Funk single from the 70�s, don�t it?), but no real damage done.

About 8 am this morning, the skies opened up. It started raining heavy then, and it continued on and off until we left work for home today at 4 pm. We had to have at least 1 inch of rain in that window of time, mixed up with lots of lightning. It hit near and far, rattling the windows of the storage and causing us to jump from our slumber every now and then.

How close did it come to hitting one of us, you might ask?

Well, you might..

Tink, the sometimes temporary lead work, most of the time road runner (or garbologist, if you prefer) was about to leave his truck to pick up a dead rabbit, chunk of radial tire, or something�. when he heard a loud crack and saw the lightning at the same time.

That only means one thing: the bolt of electrical energy hit very close to his vehicle.

How close?

It hit the antenna of his two-way radio, that�s how close.

He didn�t know it at the time, but he found out later. We had tried to call him to tell him about some garbage in the road, but he didn�t answer. Mikey finally went looking for him (he has assigned route to cover each day of the week), and he caught up with him on the Interstate. He tried to call him, but Tink didn�t answer, even when he was right behind him.

So Mikey passed him, and waved at him to make him pull over.

After doing a radio check (no answer), Tink crawled up to the roof of his dump truck. There, he found a melted, twisted mass that was once his radio antenna. The bolt had melted all of the plastic components, and had welded the metal parts into a small chunk of waste matter.

Folks�that�s too damn close!

He has to run the truck into the radio shop tomorrow to get the antenna fixed. I imagine the radio has some issues, too, but they won�t know until then.

And just think: for once, he had an excuse for NOT answering the radio.

He can�t use that one ever again��.


My coworker Dave sent me a list of T-shirt sayings that is making the rounds on the Internet. I especially liked one of them. I think it applies to me very well:

I am not a complete idiot! I have a few pieces missing�

Yeah, that sums me up pretty well�.


I cooked the White bass I caught yesterday tonight.

The Internet is a wonderful thing, in more ways than one.

Tonight, I didn�t feel like filling the house with the scent of cooked fish. I didn�t feel like frying these fish, because they are so firm. Firm fish make good candidates for broiling, grilling, and baking. Not frying.

What to do with them was my dilemma. I couldn�t grill them, due to the steady rainfall (charcoal grill only now, and it�s hard to start when wet).

I wanted to make Lease broiled chicken breast, and had enough frozen pesto sauce to throw together pesto noodles for her (and Codeman and my) side dish.

So, I wanted something different to do with the fish.

I found it by surfing the web.

The recipe jumped out at me when I read it. It contained plenty of veggies (tomatoes, green peppers, and onions), involved only one skillet, and made good use of my white bass, too.

If you want to check the recipe out, click here.

I don�t know who Teri is, but the recipe posted on her (or his) page was excellent! This one will make it into my file of fish a recipe, that�s for sure.

I followed it almost to the T, but I did substitute one large Brandywine tomato for one of the cans of tomatoes it called for. I used Contadina� cooked tomatoes with garlic (a family favorite) for the cooked canned tomatoes, and I added pesto sauce instead of fresh parsley.

But aside of those minor changes I followed the recipe.

It was very good. Very easy. And made use of freshly caught fish.

I can�t ask for anything more.

By the way��You can call my Emeril or Justin (after the t.v. cooking show hosts, don�t �cha know?), but please don�t call me Martha.

I have a neighbor who tells her friends that I am the neighborhood �Martha�, because I always give her my canned goods, and I cook so much.

I don�t want to be Martha Stewart, thank you very much. And not just because she is a insider trader.

I don�t know the first thing about the proper use of pastel colors in a decorating scheme, for one thing����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top