Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2002 - 7:37 p.m.

Where�s a foam fire extinguisher when you need one?�

Grrrr!

Signmyguestbook.com has been dead since noon. I have received several notices of people leaving me note there, but can�t see what they wrote due to some screw up (Andrew explains it on the opening page of your member�s area).

So, if you are one of the 7 or so people who have left me a g-book note since I signed off last night (8:45 pm central time), I am not ignoring whatever you wrote.

It�s one of those damn I.P. issue things, I guess��


So, Friday will be Whitey�s last day at work.

I think.

He is scheduled to work until next Tuesday. At that time, he officially becomes one of the idle masses, enjoying retirement at the young age of 62.

He asked me to keep his going-away party simple. Nobody from upper management was to be invited.

Hey, it�s his party; he can do what he wants.

The only problem with that is the fact that management likes to toss you a $7 wood plaque with your name, years of service, and date of retirement before you leave.

When Noodles retired last month, he told them his last day would be on Friday. He then took off at noon on the Tuesday before, and called in vacation days for the rest of the week. He didn�t want ANY party, and REALLY didn�t want the plaque ceremony.

Beavis drove to his house on that Friday to give him his plaque, but Noodles wasn�t home. He had already driven down to his cabin on the Mississippi River, and left the house vacant.

Beavis, being the good company tool, left the plaque in Noodles front door.

So, this time the upper management wasn�t letting an employee retire without the photo-op.

Yesterday, just before quitting time, The Big Cheese (our field engineer) stopped by the storage. He called for a meeting in the break room, and he trapped Whitey into accepting the token of the state�s gratitude. He even managed to get Whitey to shake his hand for a Polaroid.

Whitey was not pleased.

So, tomorrow is the going-away party. Nobody above a highway maintainer knows we are planning this little cake and ice cream event.

That�s the way he wants it. I plan on making sure he gets it.


Eric the shop monkey and I filled Whitey�s locker with the contents of a partially-spent fire extinguisher today.

We moved everything that he hadn�t already taken home out, taped over all of the vent holes and other openings. We then stuck the hose inside and let it rip.

We only have dry chemical fire extinguishers. Not the foam type. It filled the inside with a sickly yellow layer of soot, and left about an inch of spent powder on the bottom level. Funny, yes. But not what we could have accomplished with a .99-cent can of old fashioned shaving cream. This ruined the effect, as far as we were concerned.

Whitey went to his locker, opened the door, and just stared at the inside. He turned to Eric and said �Nice try!�

Foam would have been so much better�..


Oh yeah, I will take the digital tomorrow for a few photos. Hopefully, one or two will be worth posting here then�.


Yes, I know I said I was done canning for the year.

I lied.

What I didn�t expect the flush of jalapeno peppers that my plants have produced in the past few weeks. I didn�t want them to go to waste, so I drug everything back out of the garage and packed them into wide-mouth pint jars.

I ended up with 8 pints. Not bad for this late in the season.

I also had enough tomatoes to freeze a few for winter cooking uses. The plants have really slowed down with the increasingly lower angle that the sun is hitting us. I thought I would just get enough for table use until a frost, but today I was able to pick about 3 gallons of sweet fruit. This was processed down to 6 pint Ziploc� bags full of pulp and juice for future use.

The tomatoes that ripen this time of year are different than the ones we get during the hot months. They are not quite as sweet, but the flavor seems to be more intense. I think it has something to do with the fact that it takes many more days for the fruit to mature with the lower exposure to the sun�s rays.

I made another batch of pico del gallo on Monday, and it has a very deep richness to it. I hope that we eat it up before it turns bad. It can only stay fresh for a couple of days, and there is still about half of it left. I think I like this variety of salsa better than the canned product I make all summer. It�s only drawback is the short �fridge life. I love eating them both (even if some people would run away from it as fast as they could ;)


So, that�s about it for now.

Oh yeah---thanks again for everybody who sent me happy b-day wishes (even if I haven�t been able to read some that might be in g-book entries yet).

I have said it before, and I will say it again: Diaryland people are some of the nicest people you could ever want to meet.

Well, almost all of them are. A few I have stumbled across by accident have actually creeped me out.None of them are on my favorites list, either��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top