Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 06, 2002 - 8:01 p.m.

Can you guess what the voices in my head are saying, Sears?�plus, a semi-lazy Sunday�

First off, can I point out that I think we are getting a little �crazy� here with the p.c. stuff.

At least, that is what the voices in my head are telling me.

If you want further proof, click here and read the full article.

If you just want to read the main issue, here it is:

The National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI) praised Sears for withdrawing the T-shirts that bore the inscription: "You should hear the NAMES the VOICES in my head are calling you."

The organization also called on Wal-Mart Stores, Kmart Inc., Kohl's Corp., and Target Corp. to stop selling the T-shirts and similar merchandise "mocking mental illness" or risk facing potential legal liability under federal or state anti-discrimination laws.

"The T-shirt perpetuates prejudice and discrimination against people with mental illnesses through the intimation of threats flowing from auditory hallucinations," said Ron Honberg, NAMI national legal director. "They reinforce an unfair perception of violence."

We bought Codeman this shirt a few months ago.

Nobody has asked him to remove it at school, as of Friday.

Now that Sears is under pressure to remove the shirt from their shelves, I imagine it will be added to the �banned� list in our school district.

The voices in my head have something they want to tell The National Alliance for the Mentally Ill, but I won�t let them.

Don�t want to get my voices in any more trouble than they are already in�.


Good to see the Twins advance to the American League Championship Series. If Bud �No, really, my daughter runs the Milwaukee Brewers, now that I am the commissioner of baseball� Selig would have had his way last spring, the Twins would have folded and been no more. Now, they are playing for the rights to represent the American league in the World Series.

Their payroll is one of the smallest in baseball, too.

Sounds like a team I can back for the rest of the playoffs.

Sorry if I angered any Yankee fans yesterday (with my enjoyment of their team being eliminated), but think about this:

The last time the Cubs (the team my dad raised me to be a fan of) won the World Series, the year was 1908.

Yeah, it was 1908 when the Chicago Cubs last won the World Series.

It was 2000 the last time the Yankees won.

See where I�m coming from now?

Not much room for sympathy, considering�..


We did pretty much took it easy today.

Lease was a little under the weather, so she didn�t feel like doing much. We went to the local University to check out an antique show (and sale, but I would need another job to pay for anything that was for sale), and also drove around looking for fall foliage.

We will try to shoot some new family photos next weekend, and we like to have colorful foliage for a backdrop. I read last week that the Midwest isa bout 10 days behind normal for color, so we didn�t see much besides green in our search.

Tonight�s forecast is for scattered frost, so that might do in the flowerbeds at one of our local parks. If not, the blooms were bright and prolific in their oriental gardens. That would be our first stop, if the cold holds off for a few more days.


While driving through another local park, something bright orange caught my eye.

I parked the car and walked up the hill where the color was visible. Upon reaching the spot in question, I found two mounds of these:

They are some type of mushroom, but what kind I don�t know. They might even be edible, but I am not taking any chances. I called up Bugs (from work), and described them to him. He is an edible mushroom expert, and even her didn�t know if they were safe to eat. He thought that they might be past-due Oyster mushrooms (which sometimes turn orange with age), but since they were still so pliable, he said to just let them be.

It�s too bad if they aren�t edible. I would guess that there might have been 5 or more pounds of these fungi, waiting to be harvested.

No since taking any chances, though. Every year you hear about someone dieing a horrible death from eating poisonous toadstools and such.

I am not that hungry. And I have a paper bag full of Oyster mushrooms in the fridge from yesterday�s farmers market, anyway.

Here is one more shot, showing how big these �shrooms are:

hey, they were pretty , if nothing else�


I guess I should put some comment about how bad the Lambs are after their 37-13 loss to the 49er�s Sunday (0-5, one year removed from the Super Bowl), but I won�t.

Picking on this sad team would be like kicking someone (who hears voices in their head) when they are down��.


I would promise you a sports-free entry tomorrow, but I can�t.

The Bears are on Monday Night Football, and they are playing the Packers.

This one could turn out badly, but I will be watching anyway.

I guess I should be placing some kind of bet with Weet, but I think her mind is on other things right now��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top