Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 09, 2002 - 8:07 p.m.

A correction, a lousy banner gets few hits, and Tom Petty is the real deal��

First, the correction�.

I knew I should have taken notes or something when I visited Mrs. Whipple last week. I knew I would screw something up without them.

Click here to read what I am talking about.

It wasn�t 200 eggs. Even Lease thought that sounded high. Zackal sent me an email a few minutes ago, and he told me it was 44, not 200.

Gee, I only was off by almost 500%! Not bad!

Still, he said it was a massive pile of leathery, unfertilized eggs.

So I had the volume right, anyway�.


Am I the only one who isn�t getting email when someone signs their guestbook? I just stopped by that page a few minutes ago, and I had about 7 entries that I didn�t know about from the past few days.

So, no, I wasn�t ignoring your comments. I just didn�t think to check.

As far as that goes, D-land has been acting funky for the past 48 hours, too. I couldn�t get on the members page this morning, and pages are loading veeerrrryyyy ssssslllloooowwwwllllyyyy right now.

Stop bitching, �pig��.


I finally decided to toss a banner ad on the D-land site. I never used my banners form last year, and after buying another year of Gold-ness, I had 30,000 to play with.

Had, because I made a crap-o free one last night. I allocated 5000 hits to it, and sat back to see what would happen.

Not much, it turns out. The entire 5000 flew by in less than 24 hours. I had a hit through rate of 1.1%.

According to Andrew, that�s below average.

Hum, just like my writing, right?

Here is the crap-o banner:

One person (bi-n-proud) left some nice words in my g-book. I�m glad she stopped by (or should I say bi?)�..

I will have to spend a little time on the next banner. Come up with some witty banter, or at least a few nude photos�.


I stopped by Circrap City after work last night to pick up two new cds.

It�s been a while since I felt the need to be there the day something comes out, but the new Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers album (The Last D.J.) was worth the weekday trip.

Yeah, I know I have mentioned both Lease and my love for his music here before. One of our very first dates was to see them in 1979, right after �Damn the Torpedoes� broke big.

AT that time, I had already bought his first two albums (on funky light blue cassettes) when they were released. Lease had barely heard of him when I bought the tickets. They rocked, I almost caught one of Stan Lynch�s drumsticks as it whizzed by my head, and we both went home happy, sweaty, and life-long fans.

Yes, he has had a few less-than-spectacular albums through the years (1987�s �Let Me Up[I�ve Had Enough}� and 1999�s �Echo� never caught on with me), but he has also released some of the best pure rock music of the last 25 years, too.

Lease would list the first album and �Your Gonna Get It� on her top ten albums list (she still plays both on a regular basis), and I always have �Damn the Torpedoes� on any list I make. �Full Moon Fever� made him an even bigger star (with MTV constantly running the videos for the songs �Free Fallin��, �I Won�t Back Down� and �Running Down a Dream� -just scratching the surface of this great disc) and the under-rated �Songs and Music from She�s the One� also some of my all-time favorites.

Anyway, now that I have rambled��

The new cd is an anomaly- it can best be described as a �concept album�. Making an album that all ties together to one theme or idea was a common practice in the 70�s (think Pink Floyd�s �Dark Side of the Moon� and �The Wall�, maybe the Beatles �Sgt. Pepper�s Lonely Hearts Club Band� for examples), but hasn�t been done much since.

�The Last D.J.� is Petty�s commentary on the sad state music (and radio) has fallen into in the past decade or so. I haven�t heard the entire album yet (I will take it to work tomorrow, and try to listen while doing paper work), but after reading a few reviews I know that is what he was going for. The music is still strong, and the lyrics I picked up on are biting and angry. He didn�t like what the music industry has become, and he tells it through his songs (he�s fought for his rights before, btw. He fought his label back in 1978, his label {Gone Gator} ended up bankrupt, and he was in court for a year fighting for his already-recorded �Damn the Torpedoes� songs}

Even after just hearing a few songs, I know this is one great album.

Tom Petty is the real deal.


The other cd?

Chevelle�s �Wonder What�s Next�.

I thought their first disc ( 1999�s �Point #1�)was decent and with potential, but I wouldn�t have bought the new disc except fro the fact it was only $5.99.

Their style of music? Loud, hard (think Helmet) , but melodic vocals mixed in with a few screaming parts (Am I the only one who is a little tired of the "gggrrrraaaauggghhh!" singing in new hard rock bands? Anyone?)

I like the new single (�Red�) that has been playing on rock radio for the last few weeks, so I will give this one a chance��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top