Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Oct. 11, 2002 - 8:30 p.m.

Dude! We got our Dell(s) at work today. And they�re not �computers�, they�re�.

�New Slim Clients�

Dell (the manufacture) calls them that, I guess. That, or the State gave them the spiffy name.

No, I am not making that up. Everyone from the equipment manager over in London down to the lowly I.T. installer who set our two terminals up today refers to our new computers as �New Slim Clients�.

As in �The following people need to report to London Headquarters at 9:30 sharp on October 16th for training on the �New Slim Clients�.

That was in a fax we received today.

The installer (who had a somewhat physical resemblance, but a speaking voice exactly like Michael J. Fox) made short work setting these �N.S.C.� up, with a little help from me. I helped him drag the data lines through the ceiling (I am 6�3� tall, he was about 5�4�), and I helped him drag the heavy stuff around the office.

Nothing like being a beast of burden.

So, anyway, the new slim clients are hooked up.

But, and I know you saw this coming:

The State had 6 months to set things up, but didn�t bother having training sessions on the New Slim Clients until AFTER they are installed in our storage. They are next Tuesday (we�s off Monday, �cause we�s gobernment em-plo-ees), in London (I mentioned that already, didn�t I?)

Until then, all bills, fuel tickets, and time cards will just sit in a basket, waiting on our future knowledge.

Tink is one of the people getting trained, so wish us luck�.


For some reason, when I hear �New Slim Clients�, I think of an after-care facility for Jenny Craig customers, not computer terminals��


I had my 6-month doctor�s appointment yesterday:

All good. He showed me the photos taken of my belly during the scooping procedure last May. My belly wasn�t sunburned-looking (good, because no ulcer), both the in-door and the out-door are not constricted, and the hernia is so minor he said let it go.

He also said I don�t need to see Angry Stomach Doctor again, unless things inside me change.

I didn�t bother telling him that Hell would freeze over before I let �STOP CHOKING! STOP CHOKING!� work on me again�..


My blood pressure was below my normal (132/80) for the office, so he was happy with that.

My weight (taken on his new, state-of-the-art digital scale) was 7 pounds less than back in April.

He tossed me a few new allergy pills (Allegra, something-else-I-forget-it�s-name) to try (most only work for a short while in my body, except generic Benedryl).

He refilled the rest of my prescriptions.

He looked at a bump on my back, said, �It�s not cancer, it�s a skin tag. If it don�t bother you, ignore it�.

He didn�t give me the old �digital exam� (for prostate problems), because he doesn�t recommend that until you are 50, unless you have some prostate symptoms (I don�t). He said he has 3 generations of men before him (in his family) who developed prostate cancer (his dad died for it in his 60�s), and even he hasn�t had the finger-play test yet (he is about 45).

We talked about our sons (he coached my son at soccer years ago, I was in charge of his son�s baseball league a few years later), talked about the news of the day, and then he sent me to have some blood drawn.

All in all, a good visit. No complaints about my weight (as long as I am exercising, he said), and no new tests to be run.

And I don�t have to go back until March!

Yeah!


Tonight?

A chick flick with Lease (�American Sweethearts�- I will survive it, if John Cusak is bearable in this one).

Tomorrow?

Taking Codeman and his 8-year-old cousin Jacob to the local University�s homecoming football game.

$5 tickets, the team is scoring about 45 points a game, and they are undefeated.

It will be a nice change-of-pace, after watching my Bears and Illini suck eggs all season���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top