Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2002 - 9:11 p.m.

Fall photo day

We found time to take our yearly family photos tonight.

A total of 47 shots with the digital

Another 48 with the 35 mm SLR.

Maybe we will settle on one frame to make for friends and family.

It�s hard to get good results when you are pressed for time. This would have been the last night before Daylight Savings time kicks in to shoot after work. This was the only night this week that Codeman didn�t work until 6. By then, it is too dark to shoot outdoors.

This weekend is tied up. By next weekend, the trees will have been stripped of their leaves, and it will likely be too cold to bother.

So, tonight was the night.

No sun today, either. I forgot to add that to the list of reasons why the photos won�t be as good as I would like them to be.

I dropped the film off at Osco to be developed. After we stopped for a quick supper at a local grinder/pizza shop, we came home to try to get our daily tasks accomplished.

For the last 30 minutes, I have been sorting through the digital images.

I am not very happy with the results.

I did some with a fill flash, some without.

I used strong backgrounds for some, neutral for others.

With 47 views, you would think I would find some that I like.

But I don�t.

I think that shooting photos using the delay/timer shutter setting is a crapshoot at best. You never know exactly how all of the subjects look in any given frame. The person in the back might have his or her eyes closed in one frame, another person might be off-center in the next, and someone might be looking at the wrong camera in a third (that happened tonight because I loaded up both and ran the timers at the same time).

Oh well, maybe tomorrow I will be in a better mood about the results.

Right now, I am not��.


I will leave you with two that I kinda like�.

I played around with my photo-editing program (Photoelf, which I highly recommend to anyone looking for an EASY to use photo editor) with a few shots, and I think this one is decent. A little dark, even after editing, but you can�t bring up the colors on the trees and such when the camera doesn�t capture them in the first place.

And this shot is the fall color on display in the local park (but only if you were on some very good illegal drugs):

Hopefully, the ones on film turn out better than most of these.

I will know in a few days, I guess��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top