Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 24, 2002 - 7:54 p.m.

Hum�how could all of the pundits been so off on the sniper? (this will be the last tiem I write about him, I promise)�.Hell Week, day 4,�and some weird search engine-inspired hits to my page today�

Lets see if I remember what all of the �experts� were predicting last week:

The sniper was almost surely a white male.

Wrong.

He would be a militia-type, the kind who sees black helicopters and thinks the U.N. is some great big Jewish conspiracy.

Wrong.

He was a lone wolf, pulling all of this off by himself.

Wrong.

He was so smart, he intentionally made grammar and spelling errors in the notes he left fo the police. Only a very intelligent person would be smart enough to do that, right?

Wrong.

He would be some back-woods gun lover who talks to his guns, and is doing it because he enjoys killing people of color (many of the victims are minorities).

Wrong.

Wrong.

And wrong.

If everything we have heard today is right, he is just a terrorist wanna-be. He is not white. He looks African-American to me (although some reports say his family is from Jamaica, as is the 17 year old found with him. The youth is NOT his stepson, btw. The press had that one wrong, until a few hours ago).

He is a convert to Islam, and he served as a member of the security staff for the Nation of Islam�s �Million Man March� a few years ago.

He hates, all right. Just what we might not know for some time.

Now, the only question is �how long will it be before defense attorneys are lining up at the jail, begging to represent him?

I�m sure we will all hear about how his mom didn�t hug him enough when he was little, and how his dad abused him with a leather belt, or some other psycho-babble. This, of course, will explain to everyone why he did what he did for the last 3 weeks.

It can�t be because he was just a piece of human garbage, looking to be a big bad terrorist, and if he could get oh, say $10 million dollars put into a stolen credit card account for his efforts, all the better (yeah, he is a genius, isn�t he? He robs a liquor store, stealing a credit card in the process, and then try to get money put into the card�s account for him to stop the shooting? Pure genius!)

If there is one lesson to be learned from the non-stop coverage the networks gave this horrible story, it�s this:

Ignore the pundits.

They are usually wrong��


For some reason, I have had an unusual number of odd search engine-inspired hits here at Roadiepig today.

Here are some:

�Srawberry� (yeah, I misspelled the word strawberry in one of my first entries. Did someone else misspell it, too, or is there actually something known as a srawberry?)

�Foam Rubber Hats� (don�t understand that one)

�Brett Favre family pictures� (nope, don�t have any. I have MY family pictures, and I mentioned the Packer�s q.b. here last weekend, so that one is easy to explain. I imagine the person looking for pictures of Brett�s kin from Kiln, Mississippi were a little disappointed in what they found)

�Stafshire Terriers� (I get this a lot. Not many pages involving this dog, many using the more common name, Pit Bull)

�foam party+pictures+nudity� (sorry, none here)

And my favorite�.. �Marijuana plants didn�t get water for two weeks� (I am speechless on this one�.)


Hell Week at the NDDOT storage is almost over.

Today, tempers flared. It�s not a good thing, having all of the guys in the yard working on trucks at the same time. Several of them seem to enjoy inciting MOM�s ire, arguing with her about anything she asks them to do.

She asks you to do something you think is a waste of time? Big deal, unless it will cause injury, laugh it off and just do it. That's waht I do, anyway.....

Today�s big blow-up involved me. I was innocent, in case you want to know.

Here�s what it was about:

I was doing a little painting, putting high-vis yellow on the snowplow marker posts. One employee came up to me and asked for my opinion. MOM had asked him to change the poly spinner fan on a truck that he thought was still good enough to use. I checked it, and he was right. It was a little cruddy, but it wasn�t worth the $110 a new one would cost. I told him that I would talk to her as soon as I finished painting ( I needed another 10 minutes or so).

When finished, I walked down into the cold bays, looking for her.

I heard her before I saw her. Foo-Foo (not the person I had talked to) was yelling at her. What I heard was �Well, Roadiepig looked at it and said it didn�t need replaced!�

She told him, �Roadiepig IS NOT THE LEAD WORKER, I AM! CHANGE IT!�

She turned around, and then noticed that I had walked up on this little scene. She walked back towards the office, and I walked with her. I asked her if they were just discussing the spinner fan, and she said she was. I told her that the fan looked bad, but was still sound enough to pass inspection.

Her response? �Even if it is, he will change it now, thanks to his big mouth!�

No, she wasn�t mad at me. Foo-Foo has this way of bringing out the best in her.

Foo-Foo still thinks he is the only qualified person to run the toolroom, btw. He has a junior college degree in inventory management. What do I have?

About 19 more years of experience working for NDDOT, that�s what.

He can have the tool room when I retire, 12 years from now.

That is, if nobody kills him in the meantime��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top