Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Oct. 26, 2002 - 10:07 p.m.

Special Guest Entry Tonight! (My wife, �natch)�and a guilty pleasure�.

Yeah, Lease asked me tonight if I would step aside and let her write an entry. She doesn�t want to write a diary herself, but wanted to express herself tonight.

Like I�m gonna say no, right?

So, without any changes (except punctuation ;), here is what she wanted to say:

Hey guys, its Lease�Thought I�d tell you about my boy Codeman, dinner tonight, and growing old.

Yes, all at once. Tonight we had a birthday dinner for my younger sister (Rubes) who is a Grandma! At 41! ..I held her baby granddaughter in my arms and kissed her repeatedly, over and over, and then I told to her �Who�s your favorite aunt?��Then I realized, it�s now �Who�s your favorite Greatest Aunt?�..Talk about feeling old!..Also, Codeman and Chelsea were there. The more I know her, the more I like her..She�s really in to Codeman, which makes a mother feel secure..He�s now a senior in high school..I feel old and not needed any more, I told Roadiepig(not his name, but that�s what you know him as, right) the other day..I never thought about life �past today� when he was young..Now, all of a sudden, I am faced with the new things that I�m not sure I like..Codeman will be deciding where to go to college soon..Now I know that the great philosophers in history are wrong-. I know Roadiepig and I should be living life to it�s fullest , but I�m not so sure life to the fullest shouldn�t include Codeman..I am having trouble adjusting to the fact my son doesn�t need me (other than financially)..I know he knows I love him .I�m just not ready to stop being school mom or baseball mom or anything that has to do with him�Am I getting old or what?..I think its just I don�t want to let go..Everything in Codeman�s life is right, right now. He is safe and secure, with two parents who love him. I know that we will be together forever. We will always be there for him, always...I can�t guarantee his life will be the same once he leaves here..As his mother, I never want him to be hurt..I guess, to wrap this all up in a neat package, I�m insecure, not him�I have to let him go�It�s not easy, I�m growing old and I never thought I would�So, if you are out there and you have young children, remember: love them lots and never get hateful. Yes, never hateful, because love does not include hate. It�s fine to get angry, but not hateful. I have memories.. Memories of time when my siblings had children before I did. I always asked them �Who loves you baby?� and they always said �Aunt Lease!�, not �Great Aunt Lease!� . I guess it comes with age�Not just an Aunt, but a greatest Aunt? Makes me know that I will always be loved, because the tradition continues�..


I don�t have anything to add to what she wrote.

I already know I am old�.


Since it�s Saturday night, I won�t keep you here any longer. Lease wrote enough for the both of us.

I will leave you with one guilty pleasure that I rediscovered today.

Microwaved Sugar Babies.

What?

Microwaved Sugar Babies!

I found out about this pleasure a few years back. I had a box of these high-calorie snacks that had sat in the pantry for too long. I took them to work, figuring that someone would eat them, no matter how rock-hard they had become.

I can�t remember who came up with the idea, but someone said, �Throw them in the microwave. It couldn�t hurt them!�

It worked.

What once was a small, rock-hard lump of processed sugar became a molten glob of sweet delight.

Here is the recipe (Ha! Like this is a recipe!):

Take one snack-sized pack of Sugar Babies (wait until your kids come home from trick-or-treating, if you didn�t buy any to hand out yourself).

Toss into your standard small-sized microwave. Set the timer for 15 seconds (a little longer , if they are actually stale), hit the start button, and wait.

After the bell dings, CAREFULLY remove the package from the oven. Open, plop individual Sugar Babies (or a small glob, if they melted together) into you mouth (keep some liquid refreshment nearby, in case the hot Babies stick to the roof of your mouth!)

Enjoy!

What, you don�t buy Halloween candy in varieties that you like?

Am I the only one who just buys stuff that I can also throw into my gullet?

I better stop this entry here.

I think I need to go another 40 minutes on the treadmill, after the big supper I ate tonight and the multiple packs of hot Sugar Babies I just enjoyed�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top