Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 27, 2002 - 6:24 p.m.

A very lazy Sunday for us - just like the play of my favorite football team?

First off, thanks to everyone who wrote such kind words to Lease in my g-book. She really appreciates your comments.

About the idea of her writing her own diary here in D-land?

She wanted me to tell you thanks, but no thanks. I will let her take the keyboard here anytime she wants it, but she said that I should tell you that she just isn�t into home computing.

Now, I know many of you have jobs where you spend 8 hours a day, typing information into a computer terminal, and yet you still find time to post entries here.

To her, that would be like taking work home with her. She has to listen to customers call her every name in the book (because cable costs too much, or the line has been out for 30 minutes. Like it�s all her fault, right?) while she sits at her terminal all day. She inputs all of their personal information into the mainframe, all the while trying to not tell people to kiss her ass.

I can see where that would get very old. Somehow, she just lets it go like water off a duck�s back.

I wouldn�t be able to do that, I�m afraid. I have come close to loosing it with a caller at work before, and I don�t have to spend 8 hours a day putting up with it. For me, it might be one or two smart-assed callers a week.

So she won�t start her own page. If she ever changes her mind, I will be behind her all the way.

But don�t expect it any time soon���


That would be pretty cool though, wouldn�t it?

We might be the only household in D-land that would have every member of a family writing a diary.

Of course, that would require my boy Codeman to post an entry more than once every month or so�


I won�t waste your time here, moaning about the sorry state my Chicago Bears have fallen into. I knew last year was a fluke, but even I didn�t think they would turn out this bad.

In the last two weeks, they have traveled to foreign stadiums to play team who have been pathetic all year. Each team they played came in with only 1 win all year.

After the Bears hobbled off of the field, each team now had their second win.

How bad did they play today?

So bad that I turned the game off early in the third quarter. After Randy Moss jogged into the end zone to make the score 20-0, I couldn�t see a reason to give them any more of my time. The final scored ended up 25-7, but I wasn�t around to see it. Better to watch taped sitcoms from last week than ruin another Sunday.

Here is another example of how bad they played: the Bears OFFICIAL home page posted the following headline to describe today�s effort..

Unimaginative on offense, overwhelmed on defense and ineffective on special teams, the Bears were thoroughly dominated in all facets of the game in a 25-7 loss to the Vikings that wasn't nearly as close as the score indicated. (10/27)

That�s pretty much how I feel about this sorry team.

I have always looked forward to sitting down for 3 hours a week every Sunday in the fall to watch my favorite pro football team. But this group has lost me. I hate what this team has become.

Unimaginative is the perfect adjective. How else can you describe play calling that calls for a three-yard-pass on a third down and 14?

The best thing that can happen for a Bears fan would be for this team to loose the rest of the season. Only then will the possibility of firing the bozo calling the offense (John Shoop, who looks so overmatched on the sidelines you almost feel sorry for him. Almost, I said). When Dick Jauron won the NFL coach of the year award last year, I thought that was a joke. Luckiest s.o.b. on the planet, maybe. But a great coach?

Hell no!

The local sports columnist wrote this about him last week �What was once thought to be Jauron�s total calm and control of the game has been exposed for what it really is: he is overmatched and lost, and the look in his eyes is actually fear�

Yeah, that sums it up pretty good��

I have already wasted enough of your time writing about this sorry bunch. But I haven�t told you the worst news:

Next week is the week Codeman and I drive down to Champaign to meet up with nephew J-Rod. From his apartment, we will walk to Memorial Stadium to watch the next loss in the Bears season.

Joy!

We bought these tickets back in August, when we had high hopes for the season.

Not any more.

From what I have read, the fans have been a nasty bunch. I guess driving down from Chicago to drink mass quantities of beer and watch this terrible football team has caused the fans to turn ugly. One coworker (who bought season tickets, no less) said that his wife wouldn�t go to any more games with him after what she had to put up withdurring the Monday Night game against Green Bay.

She decided that she would rather loose money than attend any more games.

About this time next week, after Donavan McNabb scores his 5 touchdowns scrambling all over the toilet-paper thin defense that the Bears puts on the field, I will probably wish I had done the same.

It�s only money, after all�..


On a more positive note, I found time this morning to do a little yard work.

I mowed the lawn for what should be the last time this year.

I drug the tiller out, and I worked up the bed in the alley so I could plant my garlic.

I planted 5 varieties this fall. Six, if you count the �Magic Red Garlic� that my coworker (Jimmy Snow) brought in for me to plant at the storage. That garlic (and the rest of my crop) will go into the ground tomorrow (if the rain holds out long enough).

I also worked up the area where my fall green beans were planted. I had toive up on them. A hard freeze is in the forecast for later this week, and they still haven�t bloomed. Time just ran out on them.

I also buried all of my spring bulbs today. I always buy a few every fall, even thought I don�t need any more.

I put some daffodils, some species tulips, and another small bulb that I had never heard of before I bought them ( I just looked them up- they are puschkinia, a small white flower with a touch of blue-also known as striped squill) into plastic pots. These were buried into loose soil, and will be later covered with a think blanket of leaves. Next February, I will pull them up out of the soil, and I will bring them inside to force early blooms.

That�s the plan, anyway. They don�t always produce blooms, but I keep on trying.

I also planted a few bulbs for cutting (mostly Darwin tulips), and others to naturalize.

Like I said , I don�t need any more bulbs. They take up garden space, which I don�t have enough of as is.

But when the stores start marking them down to get rid of them (sample? A package of mixed Darwin tulips at Kay-mart originally priced at $5.97, marked down to $1.47), I can�t pass them up.

I always toss a few bulbs into the vegetable garden for the sole purpose of cut flowers for Lease. I don�t even try to save the bulbs after they bloom. I just turn them under and plant peppers (or some other crop) where they once grew.

Heartless, but worth it for the spring colors inside the house����..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top