Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Oct. 28, 2002 - 8:16 p.m.

I�m not up to this tonight�

Can�t really put my finger on the reason why. Could be several things.

This fucking return to standard time always messes with my internal clock. I drove home tonight, and my stomach was rumbling. It thought I was an hour late fixing dinner, no matter what the clock said.

Home long enough to take the dogs out, put together tomorrow�s lunches, and start work on supper. Looked outside, and the sun was almost set. It will be like this until maybe next March.

I don�t want to face that fact right now.

Supper was fair (homemade tacos and refried beans), but it is now sitting in my gut like a rock. Not the usual acid reflux crap, more like the inability to move it on it�s way.

I know- more than you needed to know�.


The last of the new guys showed up today, 3 days after the first 2 new full-timers.

He took all day getting processed in London, and didn�t drive into the parking lot until 3:30.

First impressions can be wrong, but I watched this guy walk around the shop bays, introducing himself to a few of the guys, and I get the feeling this might be one slow man. He looks like he is in his mid-50�s or so, and probably just took the job to have something to do. I think they said he is retired from a local factory.

What we need are a few young guys with strong backs. The work we do can be hard on you, and all the State is hiring is men who are near social security-drawing age.

I swear, they have to be hiring all of these older guys to avoid paying them any pension or retirement benefits. They must figure they will all be dead before any of that kicks in.

When I was hired back in the early 1980�s, I was all of 21 years of age. And there were already 5 guys who were around my age working in our storage.

The last 7 full-time guys that have been hired here at Mohall have the average age of 50. Toss out the Eric the Shop Monkey and Foo Foo, and the average goes up closer to 55.

I�m now about 5th in seniority (after the rest of the retirees leave in December), and yet I am still one of the youngest guys in the building��


Like I said, I am not up to writing one of my long, rambling entries tonight.

I will leave you with a diary to check out, and a photo that this writer�s work reminded me of today�

Circusfreak left me a note in my g-book, so I went to check her diary out.

What I found was a fine writer who is a very talented photographer. I spent a bunch of time looking at all of here posted photos, trying to see what she saw in each shot (that is a good thing, btw. The best shots make you look and think, and many of hers did that for me).

She also posted some very colorful paintings that she created. Her writing is interesting, too.

Like I said, I found myself absorbing as much as I could in one sitting. I will definitely be back for the rest�..


The photo? Here is a link to one I liked on her photo page�.

And this is one I was reminded of, after seeing her work. I took this back in 1979. I used a wide angle setting , shot it on 100 speed film (I remember, because I wanted the colors to be fully saturated on a sunny day), and that�s my friend Gary floating in space on the left. The brown object (that the scanner butchered a little) is a large power line pole.

Enough explaining. Here�s the photo:


Better day tomorrow��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top