Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Nov. 09, 2002 - 8:57 p.m.

No, Roadiepig- not another fishing entry! (Um, yeah, another fishing story, and some photos, and a recipe! Is that better?)�.

Hey, it�s Saturday night, so I�ll make this quick for ya�.

I went to the same spot I have fished for the past month or so. I caught a bunch of fish, but they weren�t hitting the same way they did just 4 days ago.

They weren�t close to the bank when I first got there (although they did end up there, 2 hours later, when the wind picked up to near-gale force). I had to experiment a little, and I finally found a rig that worked. They still want an opaque chartreuse twister tail (nothing else received as many strikes), but they were only about 12 inches below the surface. Any retrieve that kept the jig that close to the surface was too fast to coax a strike out of the fish.

I attached a small Styrofoam bobber to my line, and the fish were on. I managed to catch many more Yellow bass than Whites today. Why, I don�t why. I have been at this hobby for over 35 years, and I learn new things every time I go.

Here is a close-up of a couple of the 9 nice Yellow bass I brought home today (the fish cleaning station is now closed for the season, covered with plastic snow fence). The state gives out an award for �big fish� in almost all the species of fish you can catch on a rod and reel. The minimum length for a Yellow bass is 11�. Two of the fish I brought home today were 10� long, and two more were 9.

Now you see why I have been telling you these are unusually large Yellow bass, right?


Here is a shot of the �mess�.

The total count was 9 Yellow bass and 3 White bass. I also caught the biggest Largemouth Bass (15�, maybe 3lbs.) that I have landed in over 4 years. I tossed him back. I almost never keep these game fish. I figure if people drop $10,000 on a Bass boat, and pay another $5 a piece for lures just to catch these fish, and then release them- I can do the same.

Plenty of Bluegill, White and Yellow bass, and Crappie to put on the dinner table. I always throw back many more fish than I keep (I caught around 50 fish today. I kept 12.You do the math)

The hard-to-catch fish all go back.


Bonus photo:

I took this one yesterday, but didn�t post it because I didn�t want to overload my entry. It�s of the duck pond at the local park where I shot the rest of my pictures.

I love the way light plays off of the surface of water at sunset�..


Lease made me a small batch of fish chowder with a few of the filets from today�s outing.

She has wanted to make this for Codeman and myself for a while now, and today was the day. The recipe came from the website Recipeland.com.

If you don�t have this site book marked, you should. We have found many of our recent favorites there. This one definitely qualifies as a new favorite. The only complaint I had is it didn�t make enough. I think next time we will double the ingredients. That would be enough for 4 servings. As it is, it�s only enough for 2 large soup bowls. I used 4 of the White bass filets, but any good, firm-fleshed fish would work.

Here is the recipe, as written:

FISH CHOWDER

Categories: Soups

Yield:

Add to My Recipes | Vote for this recipe | Read Reviews | Review this recipe

1 c Water

1 c Diced potatoes

3 Slices of bacon

1 Med. onion

3/4 lb Fish fillets

1/8 ts Thyme

1 c Half and half

1/2 ts Salt

1/4 ts Pepper

2 tb Fresh parsley

Bring water to a boil in a Dutch oven; add potatoes.

Cover and cook 10 minutes. Fry bacon until

transparent; add onion, and cook until onion is soft

and bacon is lightly browned. Add bacon, onion ,

bacon drippings, fish fillets, and thyme to potatoes.

Simmer 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Stir

in half and half , salt, pepper, simmer 5 minutes.

Sprinkle with parsley.


I didn�t put a tape in to record the Illinois/Wisconsin game today. I figured they would loose badly.

They gave up five turnovers, and only picked back up two from the Badgers.

That should have meant a loss, but it didn�t.

The Illini won 37-20.

I listened to the game while fishing (with my walkman).

That�s good enough, I guess.

Have to wait for the late news to see the highlights, though.

If I would have recorded the game? They would have lost, I guess.

I must avoid the TV next week, when the Ohio State Buckeyes (and their undefeated team) rolls into Champaign�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top