Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 11, 2002 - 4:42 p.m.

One day too late, but a bad day fishing is better than��

You finish that old saying with "a good day at work", but I think I told you that before.....

Yeah, fishing wasn�t good today.

In fact, it was just plain bad.

The forecasted cold front plowed through overnight, dropping the temperature by 25 degrees from yesterday�s high of 64. That alone would be enough to ruin the fishing. When you also factor in the rising barometric pressure, and a 10 � 15 mph wind from the Northwest, and you have all the ingredients for bad fall fishing.

I only managed to land 4 small yellow bass. No whites, and no crappie. I worked the shoreline where I have been catching all the fish recently without getting a bite. I decided to move to the other side of the beach (where the wind was slamming the shore), and only picked up 3 small yellows.

Oh yeah, and one 5� long gizzard shad. Since these fish are not carnivores (preferring to eat phytoplankton), why he hit my 2� jig I have no idea. He looked as surprised as I was when I took the hook out of his mouth.

I gave up on the bass and drove back to the Hippie bait shop. I figured a carton of wax worms would at least get me a few bluegill.

Nope.

They weren�t even hitting at the ramps, and for this time of year that is unusual. I did pick up my last yellow bass this way, but nothing else.

The seagulls were slamming into the water, coming out with a small gizzard shad in their beaks each time. That means the shad were still there, feeding in the shallows. I followed this action with casts close to where the gulls entered the water, but I never caught another fish. After 3 hours of numb fingers, cold toes, and lousy fishing I called it quits.

There is a saying that you hear, sooner or later, when asking the locals �How�s the fishing?�

�You should have been here _____( fill in the blank-yesterday, last Tuesday, this morning before the wind shifted, etc.)

I can vouch for this one- �You should have been there Saturday. They were really hitting then!�

Just not today, that�s all��..


I hope this isn�t the last time I make it down to the big lake for white bass fishing this fall. We might get another warm spell here, but if not then I will have to shift my fishing to the power plant up north.

The bluegills are in the rocks all winter, as long as the generators stay on. As long as the line doesn�t freeze in my rod's guides, the fishing there is great all winter.

And no, I don�t ice fish. If it�s cold enough for the water to freeze, it�s too cold for me to be on it. I am usually busy plowing snow at the time anyway.

All I know right now is I�m not freezing my fingers unless there are fish hitting my line�.


Stopped by Wallyworld on my way home and picked up a pack of the good printer photo paper (Jet print Multi-project photo paper). As long as you aren�t handling the finished product a lot, this paper is very good for making hard copies of your digital photos.

It is a little more expensive that the Royal Brites paper I bought at Sams club (.25 cents a page, versus .13 cents for the crap-o stuff from Sams), but the final product is so much better.

I just finished re-printing all the photos I tried to print on the Royal Brites. When you factor in the (high) cost of printer ink, the extra cost for the better paper is money well spent�


Anybody see the new banner I put up? It�s another design by Michael, aka kstyle

I thought I clicked on the box for 2000 views, but Andrew decided I wanted 20,000. That will use up all of my banners left from the past two years.

I didn�t even post a banner ad in my first year here. I still think it�s a little too much like the annoying pop-up ads that show up all over the web. But since the ads are only here in D-land, and that is one of the things you pay Andrew for when you get a Gold Membership, I decided to stick my toes into the water.

Now, due to the numerical error, I am all the way into the pool.

Anyway, if you see it, let me know. I have never seen one of my ads. I wonder if you don�t get your own ads when you load up your personal information page?

Don�t know��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top