Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Nov. 14, 2002 - 7:22 p.m.

Do I HAVE to rake the leaves? Can�t I just wait for the wind to take care of them for me?

Y�all know I love the outdoors, and I love working on my grounds. Flower beds in the front yard, more in the back, along with fruit trees, grape vines, berry brambles, and oh yeah, two vegetable gardens (one at home, and one on the land at work).

There�s not much out there that I don�t enjoy doing. What many people would consider work, I consider fun (pulling weeds, running the tiller, canning all the tomatoes and such).

But there is one job I just can�t stand- raking leaves.

Why?

I think it has something to do with the huge maple trees in the back yard of the house I was raised in, many years ago. It seemed like it took all weekend to gather up those sickly-sweet smelling leaves (to this day, I don�t like bacon that is sold as �maple smoked�).

I also ran a lawn care business (if you could call it that) when I was a young teen. I enjoyed mowing lawns, and the money was good for a 13-year-old ($3 - $5 a yard made me around $40 a week. I thought I was rich- it was the mid-70�s, after all).

But many of these people would call me up in the fall, wanting me to rake their leaves. Since many of them were elderly people, I felt like I had to do it for them, since I already cut the lawns.

The only problem was the pay. They always paid me about the same for raking as mowing. I could mow and trim a yard in 30-45 minutes.

Raking took much longer, and in some cases I even had to provide my own bags.

So, you can understand why I don�t look forward to this job every year.

Why not make Codeman do it, you ask?

Get real. He�s almost 18 years old, and is too busy to help his old man out anymore.

This fall, the Ash trees in our front yard have really put on a beautiful show. This is our 8th (I think) fall living in this house, and the leaves are as bright and colorful as I have ever seen them. In a few years these leaves have just fallen off the tree still green. No color at all.

Ugly.

The nice thing about the Ash is that is doesn�t produce many leaves. Most falls, I have just raked the leaves, filled the recycle can with them, and emptied them into my garden. This usually happens much earlier in the season than they have this year. I have put the tiller up for the year, so I am just piling them up in the alley in my compost pile. I also have around 15 bags filled with leaves for next year�s mulch. If anybody decided to toss a match into that mess, I will be in big trouble.

Here is a photo I shot tonight with the cheap-o digital camera (Lease had the Fuji at work again), so the quality isn�t the best. It does give you a pretty good idea how bright the colors are this year, though:

Um, yeah� I did play with the photo program a little on this one. So sue me�.


Two more photos to finish this entry�...

First one is of Lease�s favorite rose, Rio Samba. It�s becoming more common for some of our rose bushes to continue blooming this late in the fall. I think they are located in a pretty good protected spot. Last November, we still had 6 or 7 bushes pumping out blooms until Thanksgiving. Since the low is forecasted to be near 20� Saturday morning, I figured I better shoot this while I still could:

No, I didn�t play with the colors with this one. This rose is so bright (orange, pink, and a little yellow), it almost glows in the dark.

The last photo is of a mum that shouldn�t still be alive. It is a florist�s mum, meaning it was designed to be grown in a greenhouse. These are not bred to be put outdoors in the garden, but this one has come back every year for the last 4 growing seasons. All of our hardy mums are now faded, but his golden-yellow flower with large (2�-3�) blooms is just now putting on it�s show. The only adjustments I mad to this one was to lighten the exposure up. The colors are true:


Too many photos recently, you think?

If I can�t think of anything interesting in my day to write about, photos are my way out��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top