Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Nov. 21, 2002 - 8:04 p.m.

See, it isn�t that easy to make brine, is it? Huh? Huh? Told you so��(plus 4 album reviews..yipee!)

Yeah, they had a major brine fuckup yesterday while I was catching Bluegill.

Seems that Deac decided that the storage tank was low (down to 2400 gallons- that would only be low if it was presently snowing outside, which it wasn�t�but I digress) and started the process of brine making. He brought a loader bucket full of salt up, and he dumped it into the salt hopper. He turned the water on, and then he went up and took his break.

He only did two major things wrong in this simple process:

1. He dumped too much salt into the hopper, covering the intake openings. By doing this, he gave the freshly mixed brine no place to go but over the front of the hopper.

2. He left the brine hopper unattended. Big no-no.

I told him less than a week ago to never cover the intake openings. I was dumping salt into the hopper, and he was under the loader bucket (another big no-no), using a flat shovel to push the salt away from where I was trying to drop it. I told him then that it�s better to have less salt in the hopper than to plug the works up.

He said he turned the water off when he went up, but that is not possible. Why do I say this?

Because about 500 gallons of salt brine spilled out of the front, covering the cold bay floor with a sloppy mess.. It took 3 guys about an hour to squeegee all of it out.

Now, I�m not gonna make jokes about his accident, for one simple reason:

I have done the same thing myself.

It happened last year, and it was just as much my fault as what he did yesterday was his. I had to take a phone call from another county, and I left the water on. I learned my lesson. I won�t step out of the brine area without double-checking the water valve.

But maybe, just maybe, the guys who rib me about how all I do is read and listen to music as I make brine while they have to work out in the cold will realize that it�s not that easy. If you don�t pay attention to what you are doing, it rears up and bites you on the ass.

Not likely, though.

They have to have something to get on me about, don�t they?


It was a gray dreary-assed day today.

Dreary-assed is the perfect description for a cold, wet (rain and wet snow mixed, but not sticking) dark late fall day.

It is in my book, anyway�


I am just now in the process of listening to the cds I won from ONECENTCDS at eBay a month or so ago. I already had several new releases (purchased before the eBay shipment at Circuit City)that I needed to digest first (and a couple of mix tapes, too), so this odd mix sat on the top of my cd rack, waiting for a slow period to be digested.

That period came this week. Since the last batch of cds was only purchased to use up some credit they owed me, and to by the new Joe Satriani disc ($9 in an auction, and raved about here last month) , I bought a bunch of cds that nobody had bid on. Most were bought for .50 cents or less, plus the .95 cents shipping that ONECENTCDS charges on multiple purchases.

There were 11 other cds, and I have finally listened to them all. Most were released in the past 12 months. Hard to believe, but some of the brand-new stuff slips thru he cracks sometimes. Like most of the times when I buy cds this way, there were a few real dogs (Stillwell�s �Don�t Face a Problem. Burn It! and North of America�s �The Sepultura� were REALLY bad- both wanted to be At The Drive In, but weren�t even close), some odd stuff (one album that was listed as Alternate Rock was a humor album by a country comedian?), and some great music.

Here are the four that really stand out to me (since I haven�t forced my musical tastes on you recently):

Cody Lee �Living Stereo� 2001 .. Listed as �Emo� (I still don�t know what �Emo� is all about), this guitarist/singer shows a respect for 70�s pop, with Mathew Sweet�s sensibilities. I�m listening to it as I type�.

Khaleel �People are Watching� 1998 ..A more laid-back, soulful rock album from the front man of the hard-funk group �Super 8 �(another favorite), this album showcases his versatile voice over the musicians playing for him. If you like Lenny Kravitz, you should like this one.

Wayne �Music on Plastic� 2002 �Hard to pigeonhole this one. The band is from Alabama, not an area know for alternative rock. Their sound is a mixture of their influences, including R.E.M., British Invasion era rock, and even Radiohead. They do a near-perfect rendition of Elton John�s �Goodbye Yellow Brick Road� as a bonus track- a great first album from a group that deserves to be heard.

Sloan �Navy Blues� 1998..Anybody reading this in Canada (hi Kissacod, Bingoguy, and WoweeZowee!) are thinking �Sloan have been big for years up here!�. Yeah, I know. I have slowly picked up several of their albums, and I love them all. This album has a more hard edged sound than the other Sloan albums in my collection, but the power pop/ Beatles influences are still there. About the time this album first was released, our local Cableco had MuchMusic on the digital box (instead of MTV2), and they played Sloan in heavy rotation. I should have bought this cd back then, but better late than never.

That should be enough music reviews for a while, shouldn�t it?

I linked each album�s page at CDNOW, just in case you feel like checking them out.

If you do, let me know what you think of these albums, �k?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top