Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Nov. 23, 2002 - 7:45 p.m.

This one is boring�real boring (no cracks about ALL of my entries being boring, please�.)

I can remember back in my younger days how important Saturdays were to me.

It meant no school, and no real responsibilities. I could sleep in late if I felt like it. I could get up, cook about 10 slices of bread into toasty perfection, and sit my ass in front of the tube watching Hong Kong Fooey or The Bugs Bunny / Roadrunner hour.

When I was a little older (like old enough to drive), Saturday meant putting in my few hours of work, and then hitting the cruising road here in Mohall. Flirting with the foxy young ladies who sat on the hoods of their vehicles, waving as we drove by.

Scoring a little weed, or getting someone to buy us a 6-pack or a cheap bottle of wine. Didn�t drink and drive though. If we were in a partying mood, we made sure we had a place to crash for the night. Somehow, I avoided any run-ins with the law, and stayed out of real trouble.

Once Lease and I got married, Saturday usually mean one or both of us had to work. My job at the roller skating rink required that I work until 1 or 2 in the morning on the weekends. Lease had various waitress jobs, and Saturday night was her big money night.

We just did the best we could to get the same weeknights off, and moved our �Saturday' to midweek.

Where is this all heading, you wonder?

Today is Saturday.

This is still a free day, one without job-related work and such.

But it�s not the day we lived for when we were younger.

Here�s my day today, in a nutshell:

1. Woke up around 8, fixed toast (not 10 slices, though- that was in my �husky� period around 6th grade) and coffee, and read the paper. Codeman at work, so we had a little free time for each other (you do know what I mean)

2. Washed the dishes, started the laundry. Lease leaves to get her hair colored and snipped.

3. Watched almost the entire Illinois/Northwestern football game. Yawn. Last year, the win made the Illini the Big Ten Champion. The year before Northwestern rolled over the guys from Champaign 60-something to 7, and they took home the championship.

This year? Both teams were lousy (Illinois ended up 5-7, Northwestern 3-9) and the game meant nothing (besides some silly tomahawk that goes to the winner each year-yeah!)

Dull or not, it was their last game so I watched it anyway. They managed to hold off the Wildcats 31-24. I didn�t watch the whole game because I kept clicking over to the Ohio State-Michigan game, and then back to the �loser�s bowl�.

Ohio State won (sorry ,Caribou2! ), and now gets to play in the national championship game.

Where they will probably get slaughtered by Miami 54-7.

Oh well- at least a Big Ten team gets to play in the game for the first time since the NCAA went to the goofy BCS bowl seating system.

4. After the game, I went outside and did a few more tasks around the yard. I finally remembered to winterize my hillbilly boat. That means I through the $20 silver plastic tarp over the boat and trailer, securing it with rubber tarp straps. Real high tech. I have to keep the rain and snow from accumulating inside the boat, lest it freezes and thaws enough to make this fine vessel fill up with water (even quicker than it already does) while on the local lakes.

5. I made a batch of Italian bread. These loves today had extra honey, with raw sesame seeds added to the dough. Cooked at 425�, this bread came out of the oven dark brown, with a crunchy crust and a soft middle.

6. We threw a couple more pumpkins into the over, baking them until soft. I think Lease will be making a lot of pumpkin-based deserts for me in the coming year. I still have 4 nice pie pumpkins left to do something with. If rainstripe only lived closer, I would have somebody to give a few of them away too. As it is, nobody I know wants to mess with them. It�s too bad, because they really turned out good this year. Each pumpkin is smaller than the Connecticut Field variety that the stores sell for you to carve, but each of my pie varieties has more �meat� inside them than the big ones.

7. Lease put together a turkey noodle casserole for our dinner tomorrow night. She cooked a white sauce with Romano cheese and fresh herbs from the garden (sage, parsley, and herb celery). We used the leftover dark meat from last Sunday�s roasted turkey dinner. Now, neither one of us has to cook dinner tomorrow.

8. And here I am now, writing this entry.

I haven�t even strayed off of my property today. The driveway and back garden are as far as I have been all day.

Some might say this is a boring existence. Work all week, and then just crash around the house all weekend.

I don�t think of it that way. I would rather spend the day this way, enjoying the company of my wife (Codeman has been here all of 30 minutes today, so he doesn�t figure into the equation) and being considered boring.

I would prefer the term contented��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top