Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 25, 2002 - 8:23 p.m.

What�s a �Yokmoni�?�..a couple of photos to explain, and other thoughts�..

Just a quick observation, but when did celebrating a big victory in a sporting event become a good excuse for burning private property (cars and such) and smashing windows of businesses on campus?

If I didn�t know any better, I would say the footage I saw on Sportscenter tonight (from Columbus, Ohio streets, and several other campus stadiums where people were injured, tearing down goalposts, after big wins) was from some third-world country after a disputed soccer match.

Cut it out already.

This ends today�s judgmental public service announcement from your old pal Roadiepig��.


Had the following note left in my guestbook yesterday:

What ever happened to the double or triple exposed pictures that was taken in back of Fairview Plaza? If I remember correctly it had your Camaro, a Civic and a ugly yellow VW.

date: 8:46 am - Sunday,November 24, 2002

It was signed �Yokmoni�

Here is the story: Yokmoni is the first cousin of my buddy Gary (he was the subject photographed on the far end of the power pole back in 1979, shown below)

Yokmoni was with Gary and myself a few times when we were shooting special effect photos in the late 1970�s, and his reference is to the following photo. I had forgot about it until he brought it up:

This photo was shot from the balcony behind a vacant department store in the shopping center he mentioned in my g-book. It took about 3 minutes to take, and involved a very small aperture opening, the B (bulb) setting on the shutter, three junky cars driven very slowly in semi-circles, and a tripod.

Here is a shot of Mr. Yokmoni, taken around the same time:

I�m back up to 67% usage of photo storage at D-land.

Time to post some of the old ones at Photogra , and open up a little space�..


Major News From Work!

Two things:

1. I can�t make brine.

The ground fault interrupter switches keep tripping on the electrical outlets running to the hopper. Without electricity, there is no way to pump the brine into the storage tank.

Our insane electrician is planning on stopping by tomorrow morning to check the problem out. If the sump pump is shorting out, the whole brine operation will be out of commission until we can replace it with a new one.

Damn.

2. Forecast for Tuesday, November 26, 2002 (according to the National Weather Service):

Tuesday..snow likely. Accumulation 1 to 2 inches. Continued cold with highs near 30 North winds around 10 mph. Chance of snow 70%

Tuesday Night

Cloudy with a chance of snow in the evening...then partly cloudy. Cold with lows in the upper teens. Northwest winds around 10 mph. Chance of snow 30 percent

Looks like all the new employees will get the baptism by fire just a little bit earlier than expected. With 7 new plow operators, a nice little snow like this would be the best way to ease into the art of snow removal.

The first day I worked for NDDOT?

December 7th, 1982.

I had to drive to London first (3 hours away) to fill out paperwork for the job. It started snowing on the way there, and by the time I made it back to Mohall there was 5 inches of snow on the ground.

I had never driven a snowplow before.

Hell, I had only driven a 3-ton truck long enough to pick up my drivers license (one afternoon).

What did my new employer do?

Sent me out in a truck, inexperenced and sleep deprived, with one of the old hands from the storage.

This man made me drive the last 7 hours of my first shift.

That�s a baptism by fire��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top