Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Dec. 03, 2002 - 7:39 p.m.

You would think the an organization as big as the mighty A.P.� would check their facts, wouldn�t you?

First things first:

The plumber stopped by today, threw a thermocouple into the water heater, and left.

It didn�t fix the problem.

When he left (my Dad let him in, to save my dwindling vacation time for me), it was still lit.

Too bad he didn�t bother sticking around to see if it would stay lit.

I was able to relight it when I came home, but the pilot light went out again as soon as the burner shut down.

They can�t replace my water heater until Thursday afternoon.

$$$$$$$ that I didn�t want to spend will now be headed their way.

Just wanted to keep you up to date�.


You might have noticed I call the appliance a �water heater�.

One of those things that drive me crazy is people who call this thing a �hot water heater�.

I know I heard some comedian say this, years ago, but it�s true:

If the water is already hot, why do you need something to heat it?


So, what is my bitch with the A.P. �?

That would be the Associated Press, by the way.

Not the old chain of grocery stores.

Sunday is a slow news day, so most local TV stations don�t pay reporters to do any real reporting. It appears that our local ABC station uses the A.P. � wire to make their broadcast newscast on Sunday. If you listen closely, you can see that they just read it, word for word, and don�t bother checking the facts.

If the A.P. � wrote it, it must be true, right?

The local station led off it�s evening newscast with the following statement:

�With all of the early retirements, the NDDOT will be short of having enough employees to remove the snow from our highways this winter. Nearly one of every 5 state snowplow operators will be gone by the end of December, leaving large areas of the state scrambling to keep the roads open. An �unnamed source� (don�t you love them?) at the NDDOT said that the department is trying their best to find people who can fill these vacancies. He said the department will be hiring at least 1000 people in the next few weeks.�

Whaaaaa?

1000 new hires in the next few weeks? Can�t find enough people to fill the jobs?

Where is this happening? NDDOT has gone overboard filling the vacancies, even having people ready to start just days after an employee retires and is off of the state payroll!

We still need a few �snow fighters�, the people who only get called during winter weather �events�. They might pick up anywhere from as few as zero hours, to a maximum (in the time I have worked there,anyway) of 80 hours.

That�s all winter, not one week.

I had about 50 phone calls Monday from people asking where they could sign up for those good-paying full time jobs. That is how a bunch of them described the position- �good paying jobs�.

My favorite caller?

�I here y�all are hiring, and I aims to be hired!� (don�t hold your breath, Shakespeare!)

I told them all to �come on down!� We passed out at least 20 applications yesterday, and another 15 or so today.

We didn�t have the heart to tell them that the only jobs are for temp positions. Who knows: maybe one of them might get hired.

Eventually.

Here�s the best part of the story:

The local TV station called us around noon Monday. That would be about 18 hours after they ran their story about all the job openings.

The man on the phone from the TV station was calling to ask us if we were planning on hiring any new employees.

Gee, you think maybe you should have called us BEFORE you ran the story?

I don�t think they bothered to make a retraction on their mistake last night, either�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top