Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Dec. 08, 2002 - 7:04 p.m.

Jackal�s computer is back in business�plus, they say �Never look a gift horse in the mouth��maybe the reason why is because the horse has hoof and mouth disease�

First off, thanks to the always helpful Joleen, Bingoguy , Cosmicrayola for taking the time to send me your ideas on my friendZackal�s (aka the Anti-Quisp) computer problems.

He checked to see if he had a NIC card, and found out that his computer doesn�t have one. He has a phone modem, so he doesn�t need an Ethernet card to connect to the Internet. He has never thought of hooking his computer to another unit. He lives by himself, so he doesn�t need to set up a network.

All he could figure out was that his niece somehow started a download at the 3com site a few months back. That was the day he started having the problem, and nothing we tried could eliminate it. I even did the ctrl-alt-delete exercise yesterday, shutting everything down but the bare bones needed to run Windows. There was one item on the shut down menu that I couldn�t get to go away, and that I haven�t seen before (it�s not on my computer, anyway)- something labeled �raarcc� (or something like that). I tried using �end task � on that one several times, but it never went away.

Maybe that was the culprit?

Don�t know.

When I called Zackal this morning, he told me that he had already done a brain transplant on his system.

Yeah, he reformatted everything.

His computer is running Windows 98, so he has had it for a couple of years. In that time, he hasn�t added much to the operating system. He decided that he didn�t have anything that he couldn�t reinstall, so he used the rescue discs and started all over again.

Guess what?

Both pop-up error boxes are gone. He spent most of today reinstalling programs like Pop-up stopper( which you really need if you surf the web, and if you don't already have it loaded on your computer-it's free), and getting more recent versions of Internet Explorer (that was the download that the old errors wouldn�t allow him to do before the reformat).

Again, thanks to all who offered me their help.

Now, if I could just learn the HTML for adding a hyperlink that pops up inside of a photo when you put your cursor on said photo, I would be very happy (hint hint)�


The �gift horse� quote above was aimed at Lease�s workplace �Holiday party� of last night.

Yes, the food was free. There were two free alcohol drinks per person, too.

That said, the party wasn�t all that enjoyable.

The restaurant booked two �Holiday parties� for the same time slot. One side was used by a large electronics store in town, Guess who got the small side?

We were crammed in like sardines. The part of the restaurant we occupied is also the older side of the renovated building (it�s inside an old �beach house�, which was a public bathhouse that people used before swimming at the Lake Mohall beach, back when the lake was new in the 1920�s until the water was so polluted that people decided it was safer to swim in concrete pools around 1950), and the ventilation is very poor. With 30 or so people smoking, the air inside the room quickly became unbreathable.

We stuck around until about 10 pm. Many people left before then, some right after the raffle drawing for the door prizes.

No, Lease didn�t win one of them. She never has.

The funny thing was what people chose to take, and what sat on the table for longer than it should have.

The winners were given their choice of the 9 gifts. The first thing picked up was a Presto Pizzazz pizza cooker. Nice item, but it costs only around $70.

The second person took a set of candles! They weren�t Yankee candles or anything, just some bargain set from Wallyworld or something. Might be worth around $30?

The third person finally picked up the nicest gift, a Fuji Finepix 2650 digital camera , worth around $200. I almost purchased one of these cameras, before I found a great price on my Fuji 2800.

I wish I could have stopped the person who picked up the candles. I could have offered them $50 to grab the camera. They could have bought some good candles, and I could have added a nice camera to my collection�..


The food was sub-standard for this restaurant, too.

Since the other party was bigger, they must have decided to put most of their effort into that group's food. Our food was overcooked (finished hours before, and then warmed up maybe?).

That was what disappointed us the most. The food has always been very good at the �Holiday party�, ever since they started having it at this restaurant.

Yesterday, the food at Old Country Buffet would have been better�.


Damn, Roadiepig- stop whining about a free meal!

Sorry!


One more thing- the people leaving the Electronics store�s party all had boxes of differing sizes under their arms. And I mean ALL of them.

Of course, the company probably didn�t have to pay for any of it. Most likely all of the merchandise was promo items donated by their suppliers.

Still- they all had big smile son their faces as they walked by our windows.

Hey, at least Lease still has a job , with the economy they way it has been here in Mohall�..


Long entry- I know.

I�ll leave you with this opinion:

Today, I decided to walk to the local Kroger. We needed a loaf of bread, and I needed to exercise.

Why drive the car 2 miles round-trip for a loaf of bread?

I brought my cassette Walkman with me. I picked a tape out of the wall racks before I left, and I picked out a great one today.

The album was Peter Gabriel�s �So�, his 1986 release.

Described by �The All Music Guide� as his �happiest� album, it is also the closest to perfect an album you could ever want to listen to. Gabriel started his career as the singer for what was at the time a Prog-rock band, Genesis. He was far too talented to end up spending his career playing alongside Phil Collins, so he went solo in 1977. I have copies of most of the albums he has released through the years (including the recent �Up�, which will be on my �Top Ten List� for the year), but this album still amazes me to this day. The use of the human voice for both vocals and as an instrument was groundbreaking. The songs were uniformly strong, and the album contained 5 top ten singles (yes, singles still meant something back in 1986), making this both an artistic triumph and a commercial success (a rare commodity today, with the highest-grossing albums actually being rather lame).

If you are a music lover, and you are too young to have heard this album back when it was released, I highly recommend you pick up a copy to add to your collection.


Hyperlinks from Hell day, eh?

And hey, did anyone make it all the way down to the bottom of this entry?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top