Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002 - 9:16 p.m.

Lack of sleep, plus citizens lost using new technology can make Roadiepig a grouch�

First off, I didn�t stay up for the entire Bears loss last night.

I stopped paying attention in the third quarter, right about the time Ricky Williams ran 60-some yards for a touchdown thought he porous Bears defense.

I had the game on in the background as I read a book, looking up whenever John Madden made one of his �Bam!� or �Boom!� noises. I turned the game off with about 10 minutes to go.

Yes, I have had enough of this sorry bunch and the injury-riddled season they have struggled through this Fall. How bad have the injuries been? A football team has 22 starters , 11 each on offense and defense.

After last night�s game, the Bears have had to use a total of 44 different starters. That�s the most of any team in the NFL.

The coaches look like accident victims, trying to figure out where everything went wrong. The players walk with their eyes to the ground, shaking their heads after each mistake.

It�s just a game, I know.

But it�s sad to see, none the less�.


Anyway�..

I ended up putting my book down and turning the lights out about 1 � hours later than I usually do on a work night, and I paid for it today.

I couldn�t sit at my desk for any long period of time because I kept nodding off. I had to walk around the yard, finding things to straighten up and arrange just to stay awake.

I hate that �logy� feeling. I don�t think I will have any trouble falling asleep tonight��


I had to make a stop at the local Kroger grocery store on my drive home tonight. I only shop at this store for convenience items, mainly because customer service is almost non-existent there anymore.

I grabbed my pack of hot dogs and two packages of buns , and I headed for the automatic checkout lines.

I don�t mind using these computer checkers, but I don�t like the fact that the store has utilized them to make one person do the job that 4 did in the past. That bothers me.

This store really doesn�t give you any choice but to use them. They have eliminated half of their traditional checkout lines, and they never have more than 1 or 2 checkers manning the posts at any given time. The lines for these were 5 people deep each, so I used the auto checkers.

Here was what put me in such a sunny mood by the time I left the store, afull 25 minutes later:

One was broken.

Two more registers were occupied by people with full carts. They all seemed to be enthralled by the scanners, watching each item as it rang up, and then slowly dropping the merchandise into the bag.

I got in line behind the last scanner. It was being used by two little-old-lady types, both in their 80�s.

I have plenty of respect and admiration for the elderly members of our society. But I have to say this:

If you are afraid of new-fangled technology, don�t go grocery shopping at what amounts to �rush hour� for the people who have pick up a few items on their way home!

You should have all day to run these errands. Please understand that some of us are limited for time, and watching you put each item into the sack, only to pick it back up for some odd reason, thus causing the register to lock up until the overworked cashier resets the thing for you, really gums the works up for the rest of us.

25 minutes I stood there, waiting for this Chinese water torture to end.

If I had had any other option, I would have left the wieners there and gone elsewhere. But Codeman and Chelsea were on their way home for supper, so I had to pick up extra food.

Next time? I think I will stop at Walgreen�s located by my workplace instead. Higher prices, but you don�t have to wait in line�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top