Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Dec. 15, 2002 - 7:39 p.m.

That hasn�t happened very often this year (what?)�and, all I want is a damn light to work outside!

Yeah, today wasn�t like most Sundays this fall . The Bears held on to win a game for once.

It took a wild play by the defense to seal the win, though. The Jets were driving down the field, setting up for what looked to be a game-tying touchdown with about a minute to go in regulation. All season, that has led to the Bears rolling over and letting the other team score. They act like they want to play overtime games. The problem is they have lost 3 of them this year.

They didn�t have to play overtime today, though. A wide receiver for the Jets caught a pass on the Bears 30 yard line, and was headed upfield when the defense caught him on the 10. For some odd reason, the small receiver decided to leap over two of the Bears secondary players. They flipped him like a pancake, and as he was falling headfirst to the turf he coughed up the football. The Bears recovered, and that was the game.

Nice to watch them win a game for once��..


Why am I still watching this 4-10 team, with no chance of making the playoffs? And after suffering through so many blown leads and butt kickings?

Because I am a Bears fan, that�s why.

Don�t forget- the word �fan� is just the shortening of the word �fanatic�.

Yeah, that explains my blind following of this sad bunch pretty well�


The motion sensor light on our garage died sometime last week.

Again.

I just installed the fixture back in August. The one before that went up last fall.

These things only set us back $10 or so, so the cost isn�t a big deal.

But you would think that the fixture would last longer than the floodlight bulbs, wouldn�t you?

When I checked it out this morning, I noticed that the sensor element was fogged up with condensation. I figured there must be a hairline crack on the lens, causing the problem.

Codeman�s car was acting up yesterday, overheating and dieing on him while he ran his errands. He was so worried about it; he parked it and left it for me to look out.

(I just ran a search to see how many entries I have with �Codeman�s car� and �Problems� in them. It only shows up 5 times. I find that hard to believe, as often as he has problems with his 12-year-old beater in the past year and a half. Anyway�where was I? Oh yeah, his car)

The overflow reservoir for his radiator was dry. I was able to fill it with less than a gallon of mixed anti-freeze. That would be enough to make it run hot, but that doesn�t explain the car dieing on him.

I decided to fix both problems at the same time. I started his car, and let it idle in the driveway for about 20 minutes (to heat the engine up). We drove it down to the Interstate and back, and the thermometer never rose above 150 degrees. He heater was blowing out hot air, so his thermostat isn�t sticking. I couldn�t find a leaky hose, or an area where the antifreeze had puddle inside the engine compartment. Where all that antifreeze went, I do not know.

We parked it at the local Farm�n�Fleet, and went inside to buy another light fixture. When we came back out, the ground was dry under the car. There was a small spot where the overflow had belched a little fluid out, but that was it. The level was perfect inside of the overflow tank, so I must have filled it a little too full last night.

So that mystery is yet to be solved.

Back to the lighting issue�..

I decided to upgrade to a sodium-vapor light. It�s one of those �dusk to dawn� lights, so there isn�t a motion sensor to foul up after a few months. It runs all night for only about $4 a month, so it will be a major improvement.

Only one problem- it isn�t working right now.

It�s not rocket science installing a light, so I don�t know what the problem is with this new light. I had to climb up into my loft inside the garage to check the wiring, but every thing looks fine up there. I don�t know what the problem is. I�ll have to take everything apart tomorrow after work to see if something came loose when I put the covers over the wiring.

One more hassle with changing this fixture- it is wired into the same circuit as out upstairs bedrooms (yeah, I know- that�s weird. It�s a very old house, remember?). If I want to work on the wiring without any juice flowing to my hands, I have to shut that circuit breaker off.

That means I have to shut down both computers, too. All so I can check the wiring out without getting shocked off of my extension ladder.

All I want is a light to brighten the backside of out house and driveway.

Is that too much to ask?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top