Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Dec. 20, 2002 - 5:13 p.m.

Too much food�..plus, a unusual musical performance: you had to be there to believe it�..

I tried to behave myself today at the work potluck.

I only filled on plate with all of the great food that my coworkers brought for all to eat today.

Of course, that doesn�t include all the �tastes� that I took all morning, making sure that everything was at the proper temperature. All great cooks do this, don�t they? Not that I am a great cook or anything. I just wanted everything to be as close to perfect as possible for when everybody walked into the break room at lunchtime.

And, I guess I have to admit that I had 3 small portions of desert. Small, I said!

I guess the total I consumed was far more than I normally do on a workday. Yeah, that�s it: More than usual makes my stomach ache from being stretched out( a poor excuse is better than none, right?).

No supper for me tonight. All I did after lunch was drink glass after glass of cold water.

This is the main reason why I avoid �All you can eat� buffets if I can possible do so. The rest of the day you feel like a beached whale.

I guess I will have to do an extra 30 minutes on the treadmill as punishment�..


Lease should soon be home. We are planning on doing our weekly grocery run tonight, mainly to avoid the last-minute shoppers tomorrow.

I am done with all of my present buying. I finished up Wednesday night, picking up a final small gift for Codeman. Lease still has to finish shopping for me, but that means I don�t have to join in the full contact sport that is weekend-before-Christmas shopping.

I will instead watch the Illini take on Mizzou in what should be a great college basketball game tomorrow afternoon, while she hits a few last stores.

Snow forecasted for tomorrow afternoon and evening, so I might not get out of driving her around tomorrow after all. I am on nights this week, so I won�t have to worry about plowing the fluffy white stuff until at least 4 pm.

Like I expect it to actually snow here in Mohall��.


One last thing from today�s dinner that I almost forgot to tell you.

Since today was the last time we could expect to get together as a group before the end of the year, Doughnutman (our engineer) used the gathering to hand out �distinguished service awards� to the three people who will be leaving the state in the next week. Between them, they had over 75 years of experience working at the storage.

When he was done with the presentation, Beavis told him to stick around for a few minutes. He said he wanted him to hear something he had been working on, just for Doughnut.

When he came out of his office, he was carrying a music stand and some sheet music.

�He couldn�t be doing it again, could he?�, was all I could say.

He was.

He then came back into the break room with his trusty French horn.

Yeah, that is not a misprint: his trusty French horn.

He sat down , and then he played a song that contains Doughnut�s real first name in the title. It took him about 4 minutes to complete his performance. He didn�t miss a beat, no matter how loudly we all laughed.

What, you think it was cruel that we laughed at his fine performance?

You had to be there. If I knew that he would drag his horn out after I filled my belly, I wouldn�t have eaten so much.

He also did this once before, 6 years ago, to welcome Doughnut as our new Engineer. He was really rusty back then, and couldn�t hit the high notes.

At least he worked on it a little this time.

At least I THINK he did. The laughter kept drowning out his performance.

And don�t worry: it didn�t hurt his feelings. I think he did it as a joke.

Even if he didn�t, it still wouldn�t bother him if we laughed.

Nothing fazes that man��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top