Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Dec. 27, 2002 - 8:26 p.m.

A messed-up day (lack of sleep to blame?)�plus- a new series of photos for you to check out! (now, if I can just get Photogra to make the album �public�)

Work went quickly today, but I fell like I didn�t accomplish much.

I spent most of the morning trying to clean the offices up (3 days of muddy boots and such really muck things up), but kept getting sidetracked by other tasks.

I managed to get all of the fuel tickets into the computer (that took 2 hours), and I managed to quickly mop the floors. Yeah me!

I had a semi show up around 2 pm. It was another large portion of our yearly hand tool order. That kept me busy until just before closing time.

The order was shipped to us from Mexico. I only mention this because it was totally messed up. For once, instead of being shorted items we were sent too many.

How so? Well, for just one example: we ordered 6 -20 ounce ripping hammers (you know, with a large claw on one end and a �hammer� head on the other? Used to remove clips from plow pins and to bash the skulls of anyone who tries to break into your truck while you sleep late at night?)

They sent us 10. And they only invoiced us for the 6 we ordered.

Feliz Navidad, NDDOT, from your south-of-the-border hand tool contrator !

No, I won�t hand these out for the guy�s own personal use. I will lock them up with the rest of the order, and distribute them as needed for use at work.

As bad as our state�s �balance of accounts� are right now, I will take any break we can get to stretch our dollars as far as possible.

Saving money might keep them from laying the new guys off next spring. Right now, ever dollar counts�.


One of our long-time employees (on the opposite shift as me) had a accident with a passenger van yesterday.

It was bad , but could have been much worse.

He moved from the passenger lane to the driving lane, and didn�t see the van in his blind spot. His plow opened up the right side of the van like a can opener, and ripped the sheet metal from the middle of the passenger door to the windshield.

He told us (today) that if the woman in the passenger seat had not been wearing her seatbelt, he probably would have ripped her up just as bad. The belt kept her in her seat, and the plow blade (he was driving with it up off of the pavement) missed her head by about 3 inches.

I can give you many stories like this from my years on the road. Seat belts have helped save the lives of many motorist involved in accidents while I have worked for NDDOT. It�s just that simple.

Something to think about, if you are one of those people who hate to buckle up.


My mom (no, not MOM from work- my actual mom) will be here at Casa Roadiepig tomorrow morning.

Now, don�t get me wrong: I try my best, but having her here isn�t a bed of roses. We aren�t that close (if you have been stopping by �Roadiepig� long, you know why), and she always manages to stir everyone up while she is here.

Codeman works 7-5 tomorrow. Lease also has to work (8-1).

I am off.

Lucky me.

After several hours of watching CNN (her favorite television �show�), I will be ready for work to call me in.

I will be hoping for blowing and drifting snow, but I know I won�t get what I want�..


So, I probably won�t post again until Sunday (when she leaves).

I have loaded a new album at Photogra, but you can�t see it just yet.

Why?

I wish I knew. I followed all of the steps to make it a �public� album. The web site says that albums become �public� in 24 hours or less.

It�s been over than, and it is still not up and running.

I spent an hours or two playing with photos I took of our holiday lights, using my Photelf editing program.

If I haven�t said so before, I will now: I love this program! It is the easiest one I have found (I have 4 different photo editing programs loaded on this Dell) to use for both printing multiple images, and for doing the �grunt work� on individual photos.

Anyway�.

I ran a series of 15 different take son a sing shot I took yesterday of a pair of lights, buried under the snow. I also posted a few more shots of our house, lit up with strings of miniature lights. I played around with these, too. I even put up a shot of our house where you can see our new honkin� big, retina-burning security light.

But, until the folks at Photogra make this series �public�, I am the only one who can view them.

This sucks, to put things in technical terms.

So, until then, if you really wanna see them, send me an Email here

Until then, here is one of my favorites (you know I love all things blue�)

This is not the original shot. The one I started with was of two bright red lights, burning under an inch of snow.

Maybe Photogra will have this fixed tomorrow. If so, I will post a 20-second entry with the link then�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top