Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 02, 2003 - 9:08 p.m.

Not much snow, but a very bad day�plus, some new photos are up at Photogra, if you care to view them�

We only received about 1� to 2� of snow, not the 4� to 8� they forecasted.

Didn�t matter.

I am convinced that fewer accidents happen in a heavy snow than a light one.

First thing this morning, three SUV�s were in the southbound ditch (and, in one case, in a farmer�s field) by the time I was able to get north of town. All three rolled. One was on its roof, two on their sides. Nobody was seriously injured in these three incidents.

After spreading a load of salt, all the lanes were wet by 10:30. Gordo called me into the storage to mix brine, because the tank had been completely drained by that time.

This is really starting to get on my nerves. My route is the main North route in the county. It has Interstate speed limits, with traffic to match.

So why do the lead workers continue to pull me in to make brine (no college degree is needed to mix brine,btw), and leave inexperienced hourly snowbirds on my route?

I don�t know if I want to write what happened this evening on my route. I ended back on the route around 4:30 pm, after several drivers called the storage to say the road was �glazing over�, a condition that happens to wet pavement, near 32� temperatures, and setting sun late in the afternoon all happen after the road has been wet all day.

I did something that I haven�t had to do before (in 20 winters of snow fighting) once I got to a trouble spot on my route.

(I just deleted 5 paragraphs explaining my adventure. After composing the entry,I decided that I shouldn�t post anything here that might, somehow, be used against the NDDOT in court somewhere down the road. Let me put it in simple terms: I helped a rescue squad, I did nothing illegal, and I would do it again if the situation {God, I hope not!}ever came up again. If you actually know me, write me an email, and I will fill you in on what happened�)

PLEASE�SLOW DOWN WHEN THE WEATHER TURNS BAD! AND WEAR YOU FREAKIN� SEAT BELT, O.K.?

My heart is still racing, and it happened 4 fuckin� hours ago!


On to less stressful things�..

My photos are now �public� at Photogra. If you wanna see the shots I took of the charred truck from last week, click on this link. Use the slide show feature to view the series in another window, if you like.


I need a good night of sleep, so I am out of here.

I need a day off, so I can catch up with all of y�all�s diaries.

Oh yeah, one more thing�..Codeman is playing with .html, and showed me this page where he is trying to redesign my d-land page.

He can�t figure out how to move my links to the top of the page (and I told him that red IS NOT my color), so for now he is just playing around.

Just a warning, in case he gets something figured out and wants me to try his work.

A parent has to encourage their child�s creativity, don�t they?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top