Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 09, 2003 - 8:23 p.m.

I have to admit, he had a pretty good excuse for not calling me back�plus, a helluva good price on firewood....

Who?

One of our vendors, that�s who.

Here�s the story: We are almost out of tinted safety glasses. The state provides them for the workers to wear. I know it�s hard to believe, but somebody figured out that a $3 pair of safety glass for everyone who wants them would save them money in the long run. One lost eye will cost the state far more than 1000 pairs of safety glass.

So, they always make sure we have plenty for any job that might put our eyes at risk. This time of year, that would be any job that would require you working in the road (passing motorists can pick up loose rock with their tire, causing them to become flying projectiles. I know, because I have been plunked more times than I care to remember in this manor), and running a chain saw. We go through many more pairs during the warmer months. If you wear them every day while operating a tractor/mower or a Weedeater, you will go through several pairs each summer.

Anyway��..

The contract for personal safety supplies expired last September. I thought I had plenty of tinted glasses, but all of the counties under my distribution network have been asking for more. Since I also know that we will be out of money by early spring, now would be a good time to get what I will need for the rest of the fiscal year.

My first call was to a small medical supply company ( I wrote about these glasses and this company here last year) for the glasses that everyone liked from last year�s order.

I reached the answering machine. The message said, �Hi! You have reached Bob at (company name here). I am away right now, so if you would kindly please leave me a message, I will get back with you as soon as possible! Thanks, and have a great day!�

Nice message. I left him a short message 9name, company, what I wanted to buy form him), and hung up.

That was Monday.

I called back on Tuesday, and left another message. I told the answering machine that I needed to place an order as soon as possible. If he didn�t get back with me soon, I would call the next vendor on the list and order their glasses instead.

Now, you wouldn�t think I would have to leave messages like this, considering I want to spend money on a company�s products. One thin I have learned in my time in the tool room is this: The State is soooo sloooowww at paying their bills, many businesses decide we aren�t worth the hassle. If one doesn�t want to deal with me, that is fine. Just tell me, so I can try somebody else.

I was pouring over the contracts today, trying to decide who I would call next for these glasses, when my phone rang.

�State Highway� I said.

��Can I speak to Roadiepig, please?� in a heavy southern accent , was what I heard.

�This is Roadiepig. What can I do for you?� said I.

�I am returning your calls to (company name here). This is Bill, Bob�s brother. We can�t sell you any safety glasses because Bob is dead. He died last October, and because of that, we are in the process of going out of business� said Bill.

Now, what the fuck do you say back to that statement? Huh?

I apologized for bothering them, and wished them the best down the road. That�s all I could think of at the time.

He did offer me the phone number to the manufacturer of the glasses, so I could find another supplier.

I thanked him again, and I hung up.

So, like I wrote in the title above- he did have a pretty good excuse for not calling back.

Being dead does cramp you style, doesn�t it?


I found a company less than 60 miles away that would sell the same brand of glasses to us. We have bought other safety supplies from them before, so they are an approved vendor, too.

They also gave me the glasses for 53� less a pair, a savings of almost 18% on each pair.

Always trying to save a little money.

Try to explain that to Beavis, will you?


I did the weekly Wallyworld run tonight.

Lease has to work Saturday, and I plan on installing new rear speakers and rewiring all 4 of myspeakers in my truck at the same time. Saturday night is NFL playoff games, and neither of us wants to spend Saturday night at the grocery store.

We�re old, but not that boring quite yet.

As I was walking into the store, I noticed a huge pallet filled with bundles of firewood. These were big enough for a nice, ling night of lovemaking in front of a roaring fire.

If you are so inclined, that is.

I don�t need any firewood. I have about 2 full cords of aged hickory, ash, and locust in my backyard. I probably won�t even cut any new wood this winter. We hardly touched the rack because of the mild weather last year. I think we should use up some of our oldest wood this winter, and then cut some fresh wood in the spring.

No, the reason the firewood caught my eye is this:

It was priced at $6.66 a bundle.

That ought to get the fans of the book of Revelations stirred up a little when the walk by the firewood, shouldn�t it?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top