Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 16, 2003 - 8:58 p.m.

Not much snow today, but more to come?

Yeah, the forecasters got it wrong again.

When I woke up this morning, they were still calling for 5� to 7�, with strong winds.

We ended up with somewhere around 2� to 3�, and the winds still haven�t kicked in as I type this.

I had an hourly to help he, so my route was whipped into shape quite nicely when I left tonight. I gave him the in-town area, and I took the longer, rural part of the route. Since he has worked here for a few years, he wasn�t afraid to plow in town. The only time we plowed in tandem was when I helped him clear his turn lanes. That only took about 30 minutes, so for the rest of the 12-hour shift we only passed each other a couple of times.

The snow is over for today, but more Alberta Clippers (fast moving storms that pack little moisture but strong winds, originating in the providence of Alberta, Canada) are forecast to follow the jet stream for the next 6 days. You just get the blowing and drifting from one storm cleaned up, and then another one follows in its footsteps.

For those keeping score, here is how the weather �experts� have done here so far this winter:

The first forecasted snow (Christmas Eve and day), they predicted trace to an inch all the way up until the snow started falling.

We ended up with 7 inches of snow.

The second storm (New Years, the day after), they took no chances- up to 8� of wet snow was their guess.

We didn�t have any stick to the ground, and only had trouble when the roads flash-froze when the sun went down.

They were then 0-2.

Today? The last thing I read before bed last night still said 5� to 7�, beginning between 3-6 am. I spent the night tossing and turning, barely falling to sleep at all (part of which must be blamed on the 8pm starting time for Illinois�s butt-whipping at the hands of the Iowa men�s basketball team. I can never fall asleep when a late game goes that poorly for the good guys). I woke up tired, grouchy, and ready to fight a bad snowstorm.

And we got a puny, fluffy little snow instead.

Winter weather 3, Meteorologists 0.

Oh well� there is always Saturday. And Sunday night, Monday day, Tuesday night into Wednesday (according to the weather �experts, anyway)�..


I just want to give a shout-out to the driver of the Con-Way company semi-trailer who was parked next to my truck today when I stopped for a drink at lunchtime today.

When I slipped and fell, face first, into the snow, dropping my wallet and twisting my ankle and right wrist, he did what any kind person would do;

He pointed at me and laughed.

Gee, I hope I can be in the position to help you out someday. If I ever pull up next to you and your truck has a flat tire, or if you ever slip off of the road and end up in a ditch, I hope I can give you the same compassion you showed me today!


No, I wasn�t really injured.

My pride, maybe. I will probably have a bruise where my butt hit the ground, but that�s about it. I broke my fall with both wrists, so it could have been much worse, that�s for sure.

Once I got to my feet and bought my drink, I just returned to my route. I only stopped to reload my truck and to empty my bladder all day. That�s about it.

Why didn�t I say something to this idiot truck driver?

Why bother. If he finds humor in my falling, after I spent the day trying to keep the roads safe for him, what good what talking to his ignorant ass do?

I need some sleep. I�m starting to sound as grouchy as I feel.

If the snow comes like they say it should, I might not be here much for the next few days�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top