Today's music?

Aaron English - "All the Waters of the World" (sounds sorta like Peter Gabriel?)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jan. 20, 2003 - 8:00 p.m.

How I spent Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day�.(sorry if this page loads slowly. Three large photos are at the bottom today)�.

No cracks about whether I marched in the parade or not, o.k.?

I didn�t, because I had too much otherwise to try to accomplish.

I started the day by driving Lease to work. I needed to get the oil changed in the car, and early in the morning is the time to take it to the local Quickie-Lube.

No, they didn�t damage the oil pan on her car. Thankfully�.

I also ran her car through the local automatic No-Touch car wash.

Yes, I know that this is a waste of tiem. We are in line for another accumulating snow Wednesday, so the salt film we recover her car in less than 2 days.

Don�t matter. It was filthy, with the windows so grimy you couldn�t see out of them. It looks good now, and will for the next two days.

I guess that�s something�


I returned home, and traded the car for my Hillbilly truck. I need to drive it for two reasons: I wanted to see if it was still stalling out while it was cold (it is), and I needed to pick up a couple of bags of birdseed from Noodles, my retired co-worker. He sells squirrel corn and birdseed at his farm, and this gives me an excuse to stop by and catch up with him.

No squirrel corn for me, naturally. I don�t want to encourage them to hang around, do I?

I brought him the photos I took of our burnt-to-a-crisp truck. He got a kick out of the remains of a truck that he himself had driven in the past.

After another customer dropped by, I said me goodbyes and headed to the garage that my mechanic works at. I had called earlier, and he was out of the building. His mechanic told me to come on by, and they would try to fix the truck�s problem.

When I arrived , he was still away. Luckily for me, I had the morning paper with me. I spent the next 45 minutes catching up on the world (Illinois new Gov. is now talking about raising taxes after only being in office for 4 days, and after campaigning against that very thing! Can you imagine a politician lying to his citizens like that?), and waiting for him to show up.

He did, but told me that there was no way they could work on the truck today. They were swamped, and can�t even look at it until Wednesday.

Too bad somebody hadn�t told me that earlier, before I drove there and wasted my time, huh?

I don�t blame him. Shit happens, right? The truck still gets me from home to work and back, even if I have to pop the clutch a few times until the truck gets toasty warm. I can deal with it.

I can�t wait until he notices the �temporary repair� I made to the �Maintenance Required� light coming on my dashboard.

It�s a piece of black electrical tape, just big enough to block the light from my view.

Hey, it came on 1000 miles and 3+ months ago. The truck was running fine at that time.

No sense in spending money on this truck before I have to, right?


Took Lease to lunch at a new Chinese buffet. The food was decent, but a little tame. I think they are trying to appeal to American Heartland tastes, and don�t want to make the food too spicy or too hot.

Nice to spend lunch with the wife, so the food was good enough.

Here is the two fortunes we received in our fortune cookies. I will leave the misspellings and �lost in translations� for you to try to interpret for me.

Please?

�A quite (sic) evening with friends is he(sic) best tonic for a long day.

That�s where you put the (sic) for mistakes, right? After the actual mistake?

I think I get that one, mistakes and all. The next one had me scratching my head:

There is a gradual improvements(sic). Feelings are sweet and tender.

Do they know something about me? Am I in dire need of improvements? Their Tso�s Chicken was sweet and tender, but I don�t know if that was what they meant instead of �feelings�.

Lost in translation indeed�


After lunch, I took a little time to take some photos of the fallen snow. Since we really don�t have much on the ground, I didn�t get to take pictures of massive snowdrifts or of cute snowmen made by small children (that was my goal).

I instead looked for the unusual in the ordinary. I drove to a backwater area of Lake Mohall, and shot about 40 photos. I spent some time editing them this evening, and I have three for you to check out here. Like I said, sorry if they slowed down your browser as they loaded up.

First shot is of a negative view of the skyline:

Next is of something I saw on the ice. It looks like the aliens are working with snow, now that the cornfields are all harvested:

This last one is for you to figure out. I liked the contrast of light and dark in this view:

I edited almost all of the photos into black and white. Something about winter just screams out for that format, if you ask me�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top