Today's music?

The New York Dolls - "in Too Much Too Soon" (1974 - Polygram Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2003 - 8:14 p.m.

No, we don�t usually eat this good on a weekday (another entry with too many references to food in it tonight)��

How does this sound for a Tuesday night meal (at home, not at a restaurant):

Grilled Coho salmon with a brown sugar/soy sauce glaze.

Grilled Yellowfin tuna steaks with olive oil and soy sauce.

Sliced Roma tomatoes with Thousand Island dressing.

Ramen noodles with sliced zucchini squash and chicken seasoning.

O.K., the Ramens are not top shelve, but the main course is above what we usually try to throw together on a weeknight.

Why did I cook all the seafood?

It was by default. Let me explain:

The salmon was moved from the deep-freeze to the refrigerator last Thursday night. I figured they would be completely thawed out by Sunday. That was the day I wanted to cook them.

But, as things are want to do, it didn�t happen. I ended up getting called in to work Sunday, making the need for a large meal disappeared. Lease ended up making a quick dinner for me when I came home at 8 pm.

Codeman didn�t eat dinner with us last night, so I held the salmon for one more day. It is one of his favorite meals and I didn�t want to eat that much fish by myself anyway.

So tonight was the night. I cooked Lease her usual chicken breast (she don�t do fish, you know), and Codeman and I ate the fish.

Why did I also cook the Tuna steaks?

The ended up in the �fridge instead of the freezer by mistake. We bought them at Aldi Sunday , before I was called in to work. When Lease unpacked the groceries, she put them in the meat drawer on accident. By the time I discovered them Monday, they were completely thawed out. Since the label said �Keep frozen. Do not refreeze!�, they made it onto the menu too.

How did they turn out?

Great. The salmon was moist. I cooked them skin-side down, and the skin was burnt to a crisp. No problem, because I don�t eat fish skin. The tuna was still medium-rare in the middle.

Too much food, but the dogs didn�t mind that���


Yes, it is too cold to grill here right now. The high today was only 12�, and the low tonight is suppose to be around �7� !

I hate late January weather.

I compensated for the cold by using way too much charcoal. With the lid on, it was plenty hot enough to grill.

The trips in and out of the house sucked thought�


Wait, there�s more!

Sounds like a bad TV commercial, doesn�t it?

I had to stop by the local Kroger on the way home tonight. Lease needed decaf tea bags (I used the last one last night) and I also needed to pick up a few tomatoes, too.

While walking past the meat case, I noticed several packages of boneless pork ribs that were marked down (due to the last date of sale being today). I bought two packages, and they went right into the oven (200�) to slow cook for the rest of the day. I will get them out around bed time, 5 hours after they went into the low heat.

This will make another quick meal for us later this week, in case we get any more snow and we don�t have time to cook. Beats another meal of frozen pizza.

Since the salmon was from our fishing trip last August, the package was filled with about 3 times the amount we needed for a meal. I did this on purpose, so I would be forced to smoke or poach the leftovers for snacking on at a later date. That�s what I did to the extra fish tonight. I rubbed the flesh with oil and spices (sounds vaguely erotic, don�t it?), and then cooked it in that low heat for about 2 hours. I then wrapped the filet in a large sheet of aluminum foil, and let it rest on the counter.

I just checked it, and it is still moist and tender. After chilling in the fridge, this will make a decent appetizer for the �BIG GAME!� this Sunday.

I think you know what �BIG GAME!� I am talking about. But since the N.F.L. is suing the pants off of anyone who uses the real name of the �BIG GAME!� without the express written permission of the National Football League, it is strictly prohibited.

I don�t want to find out they do you if you don�t get their permission.

Probably make you watch all 16 games played by the Chicago Bears this season. That would be watching them AGAIN for me.

THAT would qualify as cruel and unusual punishment�..


Oh yeah, one more thing:

The image I left you to wonder about in yesterday�s entry?

It was of snow resting in the grooves of a new type of erosion control they have been using around here along the shoreline. It is made of two layers of fabric, and it is placed over the ground where they want to protect the soil from being washed away. They pump concrete into the fabric, and it sets up the way you see it in the photo.

It seems to do a good job of protecting the bank, but it is damn hard to walk on when it�s wet. That can be a problem for a bank fisherman like me.

I enjoyed all of your guesses, but I liked wantcarvel�s guess best

She said it looked like Entenmenn's banana crunch cake drizzled with dark chocolate.

Yummmmm�..dark chocolate on crunch cake.


Alright, that's enough. I won't write any more entries about food for at least a few days......

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top