Today's music?

Crystal Wind - "Cafe Tropique" (mellow jazz- I need to take it down a step after that wild game ;)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2003 - 8:58 p.m.

Halftime of the game, so here I am�.

The Illini are ahead of Purdue by 4 at the half.

I hate watching the Purdue Boilermakers play basketball. Now that Bobby Knight is in exile in west Texas, Gene Keady is the last of the Big Ten coaches who bully the refs into giving his team extra free throws. In the first half, his team was behind by 12 points. He threw one of his temper tantrums, and what do you know? His team gets the next 5 calls in his favor. They ended up in the double bonus at the free throw line. I think the Illini shot 4 free throws all half.

You know what is really aggravating about that? The game is in Champaign. That should be worth a few calls, after being hosed last week playing both games on the road.

Oh well, I�m sure you could care less what happens in this game, so I will move on to something else�


Our new governor sent a memo to each department head, asking them to submit a list of employees (3500 in all) that can be trimmed from the payroll by THIS FRIDAY!

This is not supposed to be known by us lowly workers, but the information leaked out somehow.

No, I should have anything to worry about. 20 years of service puts me near the top in seniority, and layoffs are about the only thing seniority is worth for at NDDOT.

No, what that number (3500) will do is lay off just about every person who was hired in the last 6 months. I am sure it is just a coincidence that there are 3500 people with no union protection, and who are still on the state-mandated, 6 month �probation period�.

That means they can be cut without any union interference, or any other problems.

And, wouldn�t you just know it? The new Governor has a bunch of people he needs to pay back for helping him get elected! Might be even more than the fired 3500, but at least he will be able to get some of them on the payroll soon!

He will announce the cuts as a �money-saving move�. Then he will quietly start bringing in his stooges.

See? My whining about the Illini wasn�t as depressing as this, was it?

Wait a minute��the game is back on.

I�ll be back in about 55 minutes�..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

O.K., I�m back.

The Illini won 75-62. The game was closer than that, but they pulled away at the end.

Purdue ended up shooting about 16 more free throws than the Illini, despite the fact they never missed an opportunity to hammer, mug, and assault every shooter for my Illini.

Oh well, a wins a win, right? Keady will now take the world�s worst comb-over hairdo and go home.

Sorry�.I didn�t plan on filling this entry with basketball.

I will leave you with some new photos.

I heard today that every state in the union except Hawaii and Florida recorded at least one low temperature below 32� this morning. Third week of January, and it�s cold outside?

Who�d a thunk?

Anyway�..

My second Amaryllis has finally decided to bloom. It was packaged as a �Apple Blossom�, which means it should be white, with pink blush highlights. These are usually heavy on the pink.

This one is almost totally white, with just a few faint hints of pink.

With the deep freeze on, this late bloom is a nice addition to our living room:

We only received a minute amount of snow today, but what fell left an interesting �design� on our patio bricks. I shot this photo when I came home at 4 pm. By 5, the snow had already been blown off of the bricks:

This last one is of snow on the patio table. Silly, but I like odd geometric patterns�


Too many photos recently?

Probably.

Haven�t had much interesting at work the past few days, so the extra photography here is my version of the comedian, tap dancing when his material isn�t working��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top