Today's music?

None at the moment.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Feb. 07, 2003 - 5:10 p.m.

Terry M.

This is another photo from yesterday.

The mailman in this photo is an old friend of mine named Terry M.

Back in the 1980�s, I played on several decent slow pitch softball teams with Terry M. He was, without a doubt, the best slow pitch softball third baseman I have ever seen. He would start the game playing about 5 feet up the line towards home plate. That, in itself, is a little crazy. You better have very fast reflexes if you play up there, because if you don�t, somebody will knock your head off with a screaming line drive. Remember, I said this was slow pitch. Everybody who plays �A� level slow pitch can smoke the ball.

The later it became in the game, the more he seemed to sneak closer to the plate. He was almost daring someone to try to get the ball past him.

They rarely did.

I think I might have seen him make an error 4 or 5 times in the 6 seasons I played ball with him. If the ball was near him, he caught it. I can�t tell you how many games we won on plays he made, late in a game that stopped another team�s rally.

Like many people who play sports together, after our playing days ended (both of us started coaching our sons teams when they were old enough, and he lived in a town about 20 miles south of Mohall) we didn�t keep in touch. The team we played on was a church-league team, and since I don�t spend much time in a church, our paths went separate ways.

I think the last time I saw him was in 1996, when I was asked to shoot photos at a youth-level wrestling meet in Mt. Ziggity. A coworker�s son was on the team, and he wanted me to shoot a couple of rolls for the local newspaper.

I noticed Terry across the gym, and walked over to see why he was there. It turned out his boy (who is 1 year older than Codeman) was wrestling for the Mt. Ziggity club, even though he had to drive 30 minutes to take him to practices. Mt. Ziggity has a very good wrestling program, and he wanted him to learn from the best.

Yesterday, as I was wandering around downtown Mohall looking for photographic subjects, I noticed a man pushing a city mail cart at the next intersection. It was, of course as you have figured out by now, my old teammate, Terry M.

I knew he had worked for the U.S. Postal service for years, but mainly as a route fill-in person. Somebody takes a day off, he fills in for them. He wanted to get a rural route in his small town, but none ever came open. He drove to Mohall every day, and took on the challenge of a new route every day.

That was the case, until last week. The one postman who had delivered mail in the downtown Mohall area for the past 42 years(!) finally retired at the age of 65. Since Terry had been his fill-in for many years, they offered the route to him first. Since it is considered a premium route, he jumped on the chance.

I doubt that he puts in 42 years delivering mail on this route, but he will finish his years of work delivering on the one route most of his coworkers would kill for.

We talked for a little time, and caught up on our families and such. It was good to talk to him, after all these years. Even if we don�t have many things in common any more, we still have the years we were teammates on a pretty good softball team��


By the way, in case you were wondering.....the pickup truck in the photo didn't hit Terry's mail cart......

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top